SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#13160 - 12/23/05 07:09 AM Casio WK3000 Intro/Ending
j h rubin Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 12/23/05
Posts: 3
Loc: Spain
My WK3000 often plays an Intro instead of an Ending. Is this a known fault, and is it possible to fix? It happens with both buttons, but always plays an Intro when starting.

Top
#13161 - 12/23/05 08:22 AM Re: Casio WK3000 Intro/Ending
squeak_D Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 10/08/00
Posts: 4626
Loc: West Virginia
Your Casio upon start of the style, buttons 1 and 2 are (both) assigned to an intro. intro 1 is a longer version, and intro 2 is a shorter version.

While the style is playing the same goes for the ending. Pressing either 1 or 2 will fuction just the same. One giving you a longer ending, and the other giving you a shorter ending.

If in the middle of playing a style and you press either 1 or 2 and you get an (intro) while the style is playing then something is wrong.

Squeak
_________________________
GEAR: Yamaha MOXF-6, Casio MZX-500, Roland Juno-Di, M-Audio Venom, Roland RS-70, Yamaha PSR S700, M-Audio Axiom Pro-61 (Midi Controller). SOFTWARE: Mixcraft-7, PowerTracks Pro Audio 2013, Beat Thang Virtual, Dimension Le.

Top
#13162 - 12/23/05 09:28 AM Re: Casio WK3000 Intro/Ending
j h rubin Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 12/23/05
Posts: 3
Loc: Spain
Thank you Squeak, but of course I know something is wrong. But how can it be fixed?

Top
#13163 - 12/23/05 09:39 AM Re: Casio WK3000 Intro/Ending
squeak_D Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 10/08/00
Posts: 4626
Loc: West Virginia
That's an internal problem with the board. Something within the electronics is crossed or something.

This sounds like something for a service repair center. You'd need a schematic and an understanding of electronics to fix this one.

Squeak
_________________________
GEAR: Yamaha MOXF-6, Casio MZX-500, Roland Juno-Di, M-Audio Venom, Roland RS-70, Yamaha PSR S700, M-Audio Axiom Pro-61 (Midi Controller). SOFTWARE: Mixcraft-7, PowerTracks Pro Audio 2013, Beat Thang Virtual, Dimension Le.

Top
#13164 - 12/23/05 12:24 PM Re: Casio WK3000 Intro/Ending
j h rubin Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 12/23/05
Posts: 3
Loc: Spain
Thanks. I suspected it would not be something I could fix myself. This is one time when I wish I had bought at a store and not on-line, as it would not be so easy to claim under warranty, particularly as I bought in the UK, then took the keyboard to Spain. I guess I will have to live with it.......

Top
#13165 - 12/23/05 01:27 PM Re: Casio WK3000 Intro/Ending
Fran Carango Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 05/26/99
Posts: 8376
Loc: Levittown, Pa, USA
Try a factory reset..
_________________________
www.francarango.com

Top
#13166 - 12/23/05 09:19 PM Re: Casio WK3000 Intro/Ending
Nigel Offline
Admin

Registered: 06/01/98
Posts: 6029
Loc: Ventura CA USA
Quote:
Originally posted by Fran Carango:
Try a factory reset..



Yes, Fran is dead right. Always do a software reset before you decide the hardware is the problem. A reset often fixes problems.

Top
#13167 - 12/24/05 08:21 AM Re: Casio WK3000 Intro/Ending
quietDIN Offline
Member

Registered: 11/02/04
Posts: 147
Quote:
Originally posted by Nigel:
Yes, Fran is dead right. Always do a software reset before you decide the hardware is the problem. A reset often fixes problems.

Agreed; the flash memory may be corrupted. A system reset (InitSys) may fix the problem. See page E-80 of the manual. It sometimes also helps to disconnect the power supply (and remove batteries, if installed) for a while.

You may want to backup things before you try any of this, since a reset will cause loss of user data.

--Barry
_________________________
Yamaha: Motif XF6 and XS6, A3000V2, A4000, YS200 | Korg: T3EX, 05R/W | Fender Chroma Polaris | Roland U-220 | Etc.

Top

Moderator:  Admin 



Help keep Synth Zone Online