SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 3 of 6 < 1 2 3 4 5 6 >
Topic Options
#131294 - 10/08/05 03:20 PM Re: Tyros 2 & Other KB's styles Too Fluffy & Unbelievable to an audience?
nardoni2002 Offline

Loc: malaga, spain
surely craig, you paid a similar price for the mediastation?

#131295 - 10/08/05 04:25 PM Re: Tyros 2 & Other KB's styles Too Fluffy & Unbelievable to an audience?
Bluezplayer Offline

Loc: Catskill Mountains, NY
Perhaps I don't have the same expertise in this area as some of the guys here because I don't play out as often, nor do I depend on it for a living. I'll generally avoid parties and other similar venues where I'll be expected mainly or only to perform songs that sound like the original artist's recordings, unless it's for a friend or coworker. It isn't that I can't do this, it just isn't my "thing".

I will do some standards as close to the original as possible, but I also like being able to put my own spin, and I find that doing some of this works well for me in the venues I do play. I also try to mix in a good bit of acoustic stuff, just the actual instrument that I'm playing and my voice, and this usually gets a very nice reaction. I also like the challenge of making stuff up on the fly, so occasionally I might make something out of something else, and if I can add a little humor, that seems to work well too.