SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#1243 - 08/25/05 10:02 AM Simple MIDI software to test new (MIDI controller) keyboard
donnacha Offline

[please note that I have reposted this here, following suggestions in the "General Arranger Keyboard Forum" where I had originally posted it]

I am completely new to music and bought a CME UF8 MIDI controller keyboard to teach myself how to play the piano - I figured the the aftertouch and hammer action would make it good to learn on and I got a good deal on it.

After a two month wait, it finally arrived this afternoon - and a big bastard it is, too.

Anyway, I've hooked it up via USB to my WinXP computer and successfully installed the drivers that came on the included CD.

I have Cakewalk Pro 6.01 installed and working but it doesn't seem to be receiving key presses from the UF8. Cakewalk's MIDI settings are as follows:

Input Ports: UF MIDI IN
Output Ports: SB Audigy 2 Synth A [DF00]

I previously had the output port set to UF MIDI OUT but couldn't hear Cakewalk play MIDI files, so, I changed it to one of the SB Audigy options and now I can here MIDI files play. I figure that the UF8 just needs the input port, to get the key press info into Cakewalk, right? Sorry for being such a newbie.

Incidentally, I tried loading the Cakewalk template that came on the UF's driver CD, following the instructions on the accompanying ReadMe:

1.Launch Cakewalk Program
2.File->New->"16 Channel Multitrack"(or other)
3.File->Open->"CME UF_Cakewalk.CakewalkStudioWare"

... but Cakewalk doesn't recognize the .CakewalkStudioWare extension! Should I rename it to something else?