SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#12401 - 09/25/98 09:47 AM QSR
Anonymous
Unregistered

I recently purchased a QSR (great sounds for the money!). I'm using a Korg M1 as a controller and/or Voyetra's Digital Orchestrator Pro as my sequencer (along w/digital audio for vocal trax). I'm trying to figure out the easiest way to control my QSR from my sequencer. I must admit that I'm not a MIDI expert, but I understand enough to get by (usually...).
ISSUE #1:
If I've got a song/seq in DOP that needs, let's say, 10 channels of MIDI (1 for each QSR voice), I'm assuming that I need to set the QSR into Mix Mode. What's the typical procedure for doing this from a sequencer? I've purchased QSEdit32 and have played around with it some, but I'm wondering if I need to pre-design a "mix" there, save it to disk as a sysex file, and send it down when I load the song into DOP? I can probably do it this way, but if there's an easier way to set a mix dynamically (from a sequencer), I'd be interested in hearing it.
ISSUE #2:
When I'm in Program Mode, the voices sound great. When I design a Mix using those same voices, I almost can't recognize the Programs because they sound so different. I am assuming that this is related to the effects that are set up for a particular program (they don't make it into the mix??). Can someone give me a brief primer on how to keep the good sounds of each individual program once you've thrown several of them into a Mix (to be played by a sequencer). I realize that these are probably basic issues, but I'd appreciate any advice on these -- THANKS A MILLION!!!

Kevin Talley (ktalley@edge.net)

#12402 - 09/25/98 10:45 AM Re: QSR
Anonymous
Unregistered

As far as the Mix change thing goes: