SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 3 of 3 < 1 2 3
Topic Options
#121109 - 08/02/02 05:12 PM Re: HELP ! Yamaha PSR Keyboard: Chord Recognition Problems
TwoNuts Offline

Loc: Vancouver, Washington. USA
I guess I'll step up to the mic. I am a pianist. I didn't start playing on a keyboard until I bought a Korg Poly 800 almost twenty years ago. I hated it. I'm accustomed to haveing 88 keys that I make full use of. The idea of trying to play music on something less seem retarded. However, with time I came to appreciate some of the benifits that a keyboard could offer. One of my favorite modes of operation is the full keyboard mode midi'd up to my Technics P-30. I really enjoy the freedom it gives to play the music and not worry if I go out of the assigned chord recognition area. PROBLEM, the chord recognition really isn't up to par with my piano playing ability.(I know that sounds arrogant, PLEASE! don't take it that way) Not to mention, I have to play in a very simplistic form to utilize the vocal harmonizer in full keyboard mode. I have not had the opportunity to try these features out on a Technics Arranger, but if they can make it work, it's safe to say the technology is available. For me I have a hard time keeping my left hand doing nothing but triggering the chord arranger. I am used to doing as much with my left hand as my right. So I can empathize with anyones desire to have an arranger keyboard that caters a little bit more to the pianist and the way that person plays. Having said all this, bare in mind...this is all...IMHO.

Regards,
Let's all stay friends
Dennis

Dennis L. Almond
aka...TwoNuts

#121110 - 08/02/02 05:40 PM Re: HELP ! Yamaha PSR Keyboard: Chord Recognition Problems
Scottyee Offline

Loc: San Francisco Bay Area, CA, US...