SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 2 of 3 < 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#119418 - 09/04/06 05:52 PM Re: Let's talk about Rhythm
RobertG Offline

Loc: Southeastern PA, USA
I don't know about the dance/music connection. I guess it makes sense. As a pianist I have found the playing hand percussion instruments has been a helpful diversion for exploring rhythmic ideas. However, good hard work is many times the solution. Count it out, break it up into small pieces, start slow, and build up speed. Not always fun but usually effective.

I don't agree that if you don't have rhythm you're lost, since it can't be taught. I know an acoustic guitar player that just couldn't get a jazz waltz feel. I wasn't able to effectively instruct her on what to do. Fortunately, the drummer in the band was also a talented school band director and had just the trick for teaching a jazz waltz feel. Just say the following phrase over and over again "who PARKED the car"

For 5/4 just add baby "who PARKED the car, ba-by"

Try it, it works.

Scott's swing waltz + duple is technically correct. However, it's the little tricks that make the difference.

#119419 - 09/04/06 06:47 PM Re: Let's talk about Rhythm
tony mads usa Offline

Loc: East Greenwich RI USA
Quote:
Originally posted by cgiles:

On your other point, if I have to dance to improve my sense of rhythm, I'm finished (I'm guessing Boo, Captain Russ, TonyMads, also, as I don't know any jazz musicians that can dance worth squat ). Anyway, gotta go check on what kind of dance steps will go to Take Five.

chas

WHOA, there son ... my wife and I can cut a pretty mean rug - Lindy (swing), cha-cha, and especially merengue !!! ... but then, as much as I LOVE jazz, I'm not a 'jazz musician' ...

I do think that being a vocalist (to a limited degree) helps me considerably with my playing, as I think I play a tune as I would sing it ...

t.

#119420 - 09/04/06 07:02 PM Re: Let's talk about Rhythm
GlennT Offline

Loc: Medina, OH, USA