SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#102268 - 01/23/01 12:11 PM Open Letter to Solton - Re: Chord Recognition Table
Scottyee Offline

Loc: San Francisco Bay Area, CA, US...
To: Sandro (Bell Solton)

Re: Solton SD-1 Chord Recognition Table

I am seriously considering purchasing your new SD-1 arranger keyboard. I was particularly impressed with the new acoustic piano patch, many excellent styles/sounds, and newly added features which make the SD-1 easy to navigate. I am a professional jazz influenced keyboard player & vocalist . One important feature I find missing is your arranger's chord recognition for 'rootless voiced chords' which are such an integral part of jazz & blues style piano playing.

Currently your arranger keyboard's (including the SD-1) chord recognition table interpretes the following notes (played as a chord from left to right) as:
(F - A - C - E) : Fmaj7
(F - C - E) : Fmaj7
(F - B - E) : Fmaj7b5
(E - A - D) : A sus
(B - F - A) : F 5b

two hand voiced chord (full keyboard mode):
(Eb - A - D) - (G - C - F) : EbMaj5b
(left hand) - (right hand)

Though theoreticallly correct, the chords you have chosen to assign to the above chord voicings are not the chords most professional keyboard players associate with these specific chord voicings. Instead, most pro keyboard players (especially jazz influenced) associate these same chord voicings to the following "rootless" style chords made popular in the 1950's to present by legendary keyboard artists like Bill Evans and Wynton Kelly, Diana Krall, and countless others contemporary keyboard players:

(F - C - E) : Dm7(9)
(F - B - E) : G13
(F - A - B - E): G13
(E - A - D) : C69
(B - F - A) : G7(9)
(B - E - F - A): G13

(Eb - A - D) - (G - C - F) : F13