Don't get me wrong, I have really enjoyed using arranger keyboards, and have owned 3 Yamahas (includig the 540 and 740). Though I'm not a professional musician by any means, I've had the pleasure during these last 25 years of performing mainly as a vocalist\guitarist in church choral groups, bluegrass\folk gospel street bands, rock bands, folk and rock duos, and as a solo performer. I have never used an arranger keyboard on stage but would definitely not be adverse to the idea.

In December of 2004, I was ready to buy a new keyboard after selling most of my E-mu stuff (PK-6, PX-7, a bunch of expansion ROMs), and a couple of digital recorders. The reason I didn't buy an arranger keyboard came down to a combination of 2 factors: price and expandability. The arranger keyboards that can be expanded with new samples\sounds are just way too expensive! I really don't understand why arranger keyboards remain such closed systems...there are only so many ways you can layer or otherwise combine the limited collection of sounds on an arranger keyboard! For the money (around 1k), I thought the Korg PA-50 was interesting because it used the basic Triton soundset, which meant that new presets could be added. Still, its limited sample set just didn't go far enough for me. Along with good quality bread-and-butter sounds (like piano and organ), I like to have a lot of textural color and movement..especially with ethnic\world instruments, ambient synths and pads. I enjoy experimenting and playing with a well-rounded sound palette and I just didn't get this with the current crop of
reasonably-priced arranger keyboards.