SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#475460 - 09/04/19 02:06 PM Most requested songs.
ekurburski Offline

Loc: Mountain Home, AR
Back when I was playing in the service and animal clubs the most requested tunes where, Proud Mary, Leroy Brown, Achy Breaky Heart, Fr the good times and Help me through the night. The where many more that went over very well but these where the ones most requested. It dawned on me that it would be good to know what where the most requested songs today and to be sure to have them in my repertoire before trying to book out today. So how about it guys? What is your most requested tunes today?

#475462 - 09/04/19 02:16 PM Re: Most requested songs. [Re: ekurburski]
Riceroni9 Offline

Loc: TX, USA
I'm no expert on music or today's music tastes but depending on the crowd you are attempting to serve... you would probably be amazed at how little most youngsters know about good music. They seem to be "in it" for the noise.

My ASCAP Newsletter indicated that RAP and Hip Hop are the leading genres purchased in the current market. On the flip side, most folks past 40 don't purchase music or albums. Like me, they grew up in the era where the radio provided music for free if you were aware you would be bombarded by commercials. Our choices were many on the AM dial and not so many on FM signals which carry shorter distances.

Streaming seems to be the future direction but I hate it because the songwriters, musicians and performers are being cheated on a big scale.

I liked your playlist. Still as good now as back then to my old ears... depending on the talent of the artist and supporting musical cast.

All the best,

----West Mayberry Dave

#475471 - 09/04/19 03:02 PM Re: Most requested songs. [Re: ekurburski]
DonM Offline

Loc: Benton, LA, USA
Probably most requested over the years is Brown-eyed Girl.