SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#365021 - 04/16/13 07:22 AM Played the S-950 yesterday...
travlin'easy Online   happy

Loc: Forest Hill, MD USA
I had the opportunity to play Joe Ayala's S-950 for a brief period yesterday afternoon. It sounded pretty darned good. There were, however, a few things missing:

Contrast control would have been nice, but I could see the screen OK without it.

The keyfeel is a bit firmer than the PSR-3000, but still not stiff like some other brands. I've been playing with lighter keys for so many years now that stiff action keys feel kinda weird.

Unless I just missed the location, the onboard Sound Creator program is no longer in the keyboard's software. That was a great feature, and I for one, used it a lot. I created a lot of great, custom voices using the program on the PSR-3000.

Yamaha eliminated some buttons, but you can still access the features with a single push of two buttons. An example of this is the dedicated registration button. This has been replaced with Registration +/- buttons, which are next to each other. If you press the + or - button alone, this takes you to the next registration bank or the previous bank. If you press them both at the same time the registration bank screen opens and you can select, or edit a selected bank screen.

Unfortunately, I didn't have a lot of time to play with the S-950, but my first impression is that it's the best bang for the buck on the arranger keyboard market out there. The navigation system is quick, easy and provides lots of options for performers that will keep dead time between songs down to a minimum of a second or two. I did not mess with the Music Finder Directory, and to be honest, I forgot about it. I'm fairly confident, though, that the few changes that were made in accessing third-party styles will be highly beneficial, especially to performers.