SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#362008 - 02/22/13 08:39 PM Do you turn Bass Inversion on & off during a song?
TedS Offline

Loc: North Texas, USA
First, I'm a hobbyist, NOT a pro player with a lot of musical training. I began on a chord organ, and I've been working my way up from so-called "one finger" chords. I've expanded my repertoire a lot, but I'm still struggling with so-called on-bass chords. I even bought a set of foot pedals, but I ended up trading them in before I really got a chance to practice. (I usually play standing and I didn't have room to store them or set them up blush .)

Rolands & Korgs have a bass inversion button on the console which can also be linked to a foot switch function. This gives me a couple of options:
1) Learn the song with bass inversion enabled (which forces me to play all non-slash chords in root position, sometimes requiring additional left-hand movements)
2) Play most of the song using various chord inversions to minimize hand movement. Press the pedal to activate bass inversion right before the slash chord, and press it again to turn it off after the chord has been played.

I can't help but think that for someone using approach #2, it would have been better if the bass inversion function for the foot switch would have been programmed as a *momentary* setting that reverts to "off" as soon as the pedal is released.

So what's the consensus here: Do you play the whole song being mindful of your chord roots, or do you turn Bass Inversion on and off during the song?
Thanks in advance for sharing your wisdom,
Ted

Edited by TedS (02/22/13 08:40 PM)

#362017 - 02/23/13 09:24 AM Re: Do you turn Bass Inversion on & off during a song? [Re: TedS]
Dnj Offline

During a song very rarely unless a certain song calls for that kind of bass line.....but, I do use inverted chords all the time while playing. I don't like the use of pedals.