SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#93457 - 07/19/05 10:27 PM Roland G70 Variation selection
Diki Offline

Loc: NW Florida
I posted this at the G70 Users Club Denmark Forum, and thought it might get some discussion here -

G70 Variation Selection

I've been thinking about this for a while since I started playing the G70. I find the selection of the right fill and variation while you are playing to be MUCH, MUCH harder than my G1000.

While you are putting on a show, the less you have to think about, the better.. concentrate on singing and being creative/entertaining, whatever you have to, but worrying about hitting the right button at the right time, where a small mistake leads to audio hell, is counter productive.

First things first........ Most good players use BOTH their hands ALL THE TIME!!! Having to stop playing to trigger a variation is tough at best, and many times impossible.

Here's how I do it on the G1000 - I use the footswitch for FO/FV function, and manually select Basic/Advanced. FO/FV, in case you don't know, is Fill-in to Original/Fill-in to Variation. How this works is, if you are in the Verse (Original) of the song you hit the pedal and you get a fill up to the chorus (Variation), if you are already in the Variation, hit the SAME pedal and you get a fill back to the Original pattern. Here's the good part - hit the pedal twice, quickly, and you get a fill back to where you are (not a true Fill-in to Previous, but it does in a pinch).
So, one pedal - three functions. Pretty good, simple, HANDS FREE.