SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#172788 - 03/31/05 07:39 PM learning note reading
fathan Offline

Loc: Indonesia
Taking advices from you guys in this forum, I bought PSR-3000 2 months ago. I love it more and more everyday. I used to be a singer with a local rock band.But now I am running my own printing company.I love singing very much and now I want to be able to play the keyboard. I am 41 yrs now and I just started learning to read notation, Do you guys think it's too late? What is the best method of learning how to read music notation? What books/references should I get?

Fathi Bawazier

#172789 - 03/31/05 08:20 PM Re: learning note reading
travlin'easy Offline

Loc: Forest Hill, MD USA
Fathi,

I never had the necessary skills to read music, however, I managed to learn most of the chords I needed to play. The best advice I have for learing is to go to http://psrtutorial.com/Resources/R_ChordSecrets/w00_intro.html which is on the PSR Tutorial site. It has been a big help to me and many other.

Good Luck,

Gary

K+E=W (Knowledge Plus Experience = Wisdom.)

#172790 - 03/31/05 11:54 PM Re: learning note reading
Graham UK Offline

Loc: Lincolnshire UK
fathan. I can only play when reading from sheet music. I now get so much pleasure from reading the notes. I started to learn to read music well after your 41 years, so it's never too late. Just sick with it and you will find your reading improves weekly. Start with a favourite tune that you like to play and just keep playing it over & over, then progress from there.

#172791 - 04/01/05 04:03 AM Re: learning note reading
bruno123 Offline

Loc: West Palm Beach, FL 33417
The person who enters a library and can not read has no way to enjoy all that is offered.
And so it is with music.

The person who only reads music has limited himself.

As Chet Atkins the famous country guitar player said when they asked him if he could read music, "Not enough to hurt my playing".