SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#197648 - 03/01/04 03:41 AM Roland exr-3 or exr-5
Louis NL Offline

Loc: Netherlands
Hi All,

I'm currently looking for a keyboard to use both stand-alone and as a midi-controller in combination with programs like Fruity Loops and/or ACID.
As a complete novice I really appreciate your advise.
I've read some positive things about the Roland exr-line.
In the Netherlands the exr-3 can be purchased for about EUR 420. As the exr-5 costs some EUR 100 more I'm not really convinced weither the additional floppy drive and 5 Watt music power is worth the extra investment.
In the Synth Zone forums only the exr-5 is mentioned, what do you guys think of the exr-3 ?

As I have no legacy/history in floppy material ... would the usb connection be enough for me ?

Is there a big audio/quality difference between the exr-3 and exr-5 built in speakers/amplifier?

Thanks for your feedback.

Louis

#197649 - 03/01/04 02:27 PM Re: Roland exr-3 or exr-5
Starkeeper Offline

Loc: Toronto
I have not demoed the EXR-3 so my comments are based on the EXR-5 (which I have demoed) and the specs.
1. If you are currently using your computer to create music, then a disk drive on a keyboard would not be necessary.
2. My Roland EM20 has 7 watts per channel and my Yamaha PSR550 is 6 watts per channel, and this is adequate. But, the EXR-3 has 5 watts per channel???? hmmm. You want to hear it for yourself, to see if it is adequate.
The voices would be exactly the same. Roland has many good voices. Many Roland voices are superior to the PSR550:
trumpet, trombone, vibes, strings, brass, organs, piano, pan flute. Yamaha excels on the sweet voices. The electric pianos and organs are very good on the EXR-5.
Starkeeper

#197650 - 03/01/04 03:15 PM Re: Roland exr-3 or exr-5
Bluebird Offline