SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#169549 - 07/29/02 01:59 PM Playing by ear VS Sheetmusic
Zack Offline

hey dudes. i was having an argument with a friend the other day about whether its more professional to be more adept at playing by sheetmusic or by ear. i can hear both sides, because when you have sheetmusic, you can play anything! you arent limited to what you know. on the other hand, if you know a song, but you dont have the sheetmusic, then your messed over. so i just wanted to hear your opinions on this. thanks so much. Zack

#169550 - 07/29/02 02:16 PM Re: Playing by ear VS Sheetmusic
Anonymous
Unregistered

The best thing is to develop your skills in both directions, I think. I have met and played with professional musicians in national orchestras that are surprisingly (to me!) unable to play by ear.

When I started playing piano (at 8 y.o.) my teachers always emphasized playing by sheetmusic, along with a lot of scales and other technical skills but didn't pay to much attention to music listening and ear training. I found that much later with two jazz teachers.

I feel that with time, I lost a lot of my musical reading skills, but improved my ear and my ability to capture and understand a certain song or performance. I guess that my personal experience makes me think that both approaches are important.

-- José.

[This message has been edited by matias (edited 07-29-2002).]

#169551 - 07/29/02 02:27 PM Re: Playing by ear VS Sheetmusic
Roel Offline

Hi,
I fully agree with Matias and advise to develop both.
While performing I usualy use sheet-music with only melody-lines and chords. In fact I could play without, but I feel 'stronger' with the sheets in front of me. Details in chord-usage probably would disappear without the sheets and it is easy to lose the 'track'.
Professional Show Bands in The Netherlands all want musicians that are able to play without sheets and no mistakes are allowed.

Roel