SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#141677 - 03/12/02 11:52 PM Korg PA 80 3.01 rel. (PA 90?)
synthmeister Offline

Seems that Korg has been busy with software updates for the PA 80, does anyone own the PA 80 with the latest O.S? I know Korg AJ owns one. I would like some feedback on the PA 80, I happen to think it's a great all around board (my opinion) and am considering puchasing one as soon as I get the $$$, I know I've been saying that for 2 months now, times are tuff, unemployment is not where I thought I would end up, but the economy is pretty bad regardless what they want us to think. I am hoping to get something soon even if it's a Casio, so I can make some money and get by. Who knows maybe I can get enough gigs to save up and by a Pro arranger! Need help PA 80 WHAT DO THE PRO's HERE THINK? By the way does anyone know if Korg has a pro arranger due out replacing the PA 80, (PA 90?) must have something in the works PA 80 has been out for a while!

#141678 - 03/13/02 08:14 AM Re: Korg PA 80 3.01 rel. (PA 90?)
Uncle Dave Offline

Loc: Penn Yan, NY
I played a version 3.0 PA80 yesterday, and there are some nice improvements over the beta release. It is still, a little clumsy to use in a live situation compared to the MUCH easier O/S of the psr2000. There are some features on each that shine, but the Korg is just not as ergonomic in a live setting as the Yamaha.
EG:
1)fill in buttons are accesed by the SAME button as the variation you choose(psr)
2)acc buttons are all very close to the left hand(psr)
3)mic harmony presets are more musical and easily edited(psr)
4)multi-pads can be freely programmed to include many arranger-like features. This is limited on the Korg, I believe - wasn't even offered on the first release. Anyone clear this one up?
5)drum patterns and fills are more logical, and match each others energy level better
Now for the Korg:
1)Much better feel. Keys are more solid