SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#194353 - 05/31/06 02:36 PM newbie needs help
talisker Offline

Loc: uk
hi all
i've been think of buying a keyboard for ages now and i'm finally going to take the plunge, i'm a totall beginner and i'm starting from scratch and i was hoping to get a few recomendations for a keyboard, i'm mainly interested in learning piano but i don't have the space for one so it will have to be a keyboard or digital piano.
i've got a limited budget, the ones that i've seen in my price range are a casio wk-3200 or i could stretch to a casio wk-3700, i've also got the chance of a secondhand yamaha dx 500 for about the same price as the wk-3200 would cost me new, also any recomendations on a good book or cd on learning to play.

many thanks

#194354 - 05/31/06 11:24 PM Re: newbie needs help
Graham UK Offline

Loc: Lincolnshire UK
The problem with getting a keyboard for the first time is that we tend to make a cheap choice thinking it will be acceptable. If you do this you will quickly want to change to a better model which with part ex-change is going to cost you more than buying a better keyboard in the first place.
If cost is limited keyboard wise the Korg PA50 is their low priced keyboard and is excellent value at £699 UK. Costing much more but the best value in the Yamaha range is PSR3000.
If it's Piano style you decide on look at the Yamaha DGX models.
All these can be obtained used models at reduced prices.

#194355 - 05/31/06 11:45 PM Re: newbie needs help
eddiefromrotherham Offline

Loc: Rotherham,England.
I totally agree with Graham.
From my own long experience (40 years ), your best bet is to visit as many local dealers as possible, tell them how much you want to spend, and say you want to buy a used board with a guarantee. You will get the opportunity to own an uptodate board with uptodate systems.
Good Luck
Eddie

------------------
Eddie from Rotherham
www.yamahakeyboards.info