SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#192052 - 08/10/05 03:20 AM Keyboards
doc-z Offline

Loc: Norway
I'm in the market for a new keyboard. I haven't used one for a long time. The last keyboards I had was a Roland D-20 and a GEM CD-2 Arranger.
I'm primarily a pianist, but I would love to get into the "One-man-band" scene, to make more cash. Therefore I need a keyboard, since my CD-2 is acting up on me, it doesn't work, and I can't seem to find anyways of reseting it to factory preset.
So I was looking at the Roland EXR-7S, it looks fab on the demo videos available, but everyone I talk to says stay away, Yamaha or Korg is the way to go. So I tried a PA-50 in my local music store, and I have to say, I was not impressed. It sounded very "Keyboard". Like a Polish one-man-dance-band. Most people are telling me to throw in more bucks and get either the PSR-3000, or the Tyros. Theese sound great on the demovideos also, but they have less keys than the EXR-7, but more styles and such. The EXR-7 looked like a great live too, which is what I will be using it for, but everyone I talk to still says stay away. Is the PSR-3000 or Tyros really worth the extra bucks? They are like three times more expensive than the roland. The PA1XPro from Korg also looks good, but it's expensive. I've listened to demos of the Yamaha 9000 Pro, but it too sounds "Keyboard". The Roland G-70 looks like a great tool, and probably may suit my needs, but it's horrendiously expensive! Is it really that much better?

Opinions and advice needed!

Doc-Z

#192053 - 08/10/05 05:38 AM Re: Keyboards
Artaher Offline

Loc: Madrid, Spain
The great difference is that Roland EXRs can't edit styles and has less possibilities, its operative system is very tedious (PSR is much more easy to operate, and has a better screen), and they are less styles for it on the net.