SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#169997 - 12/09/03 02:46 PM MP3 Ripping - CDex Setup
GlennT Offline

Loc: Medina, OH, USA
I just recently downloaded CDex and also found a configuration tutorial (not necessarily endorsed by CDex). It strongly suggests not checking the "normalizing" button, that this is a destructive process causing structure change and clipping. Instead use MP3 gain, which I never heard of.

I always thought normalizing was the accepted standard for keeping the volume of each track somewhat the same, but I'm still new to recording. Anyone using CDex and have insight on this? Thanks

Glenn

#169998 - 12/09/03 07:14 PM Re: MP3 Ripping - CDex Setup
trtjazz Offline

Glenn
I don't use the program but about normalizing, it can be used in two different ways.
1. To make all instruments (frequencies really) on a given track equal in volume. Which I think defeats the purpose of placement of instruments in the mix.

2. Normalize an entire cd which insures that all tracks play at equal volume while maintaining their own dynamics within. This second use is normally done in the mastering process. And is pretty much the expected thing to do, though I myself am not sure it's a good thing. While there should not be great differences in volumes from one cut to the next I don't think it follows that there should be none either.
Terry

------------------
jam on,
Terry http://imjazzed.homestead.com/Index.html

#169999 - 12/10/03 11:16 AM Re: MP3 Ripping - CDex Setup
technicsplayer Offline