SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#160250 - 07/23/02 02:00 PM XD3 vs. X4 ?
mickey Offline

Greetings from a long-time lurker - first-time poster. Although I've been a full-time professional bassist most of my life, I can play a 6 string reasonably well. I've been toying with the notion of doing a solo act, as much of the band work has pretty much dried up around here. I encountered a gentleman awhile back who was doing a solo act with a MIDIed acoustic guitar and an MS40. I was impressed, and searching around the Web revealed that there was something even cooler out - the X4. I've been haunting the various sales venues and even bid on a few x4s on eBay, unsuccessfully. So now along comes the XD3 and hence my question: how much "better" is the newer unit, either intrinsically or for my purposes ? The corollary to that question is: "Is the difference in quality worth the difference in price I would have to pay at this point ?" I would estimate the street price of a used or NOS X4 at $1000 to $1500, fully loaded. Does that sound about right ? I have no idea of the current retail or discounted pricing for an XD3, however. Thanks for any insight any of you guys may have for me.

#160251 - 07/23/02 03:22 PM Re: XD3 vs. X4 ?
DanO1 Offline

Loc: Maryland
XD3 vs....X4 ? here you go ....

X4 has a dedicated 16 track sequencer and can sample . You can make patterns and record onto disk or hard drive with XD3 , but no dedicated sequencer or sampler .

X4 has 4 separate outputs vs 2 outs on the XD3 .

The navigation on the 2 units is very different .
The X4 has the styles listed on the bottom of the module . 198 styles divided into to groups A + B with X4 . The XD3 has 172 styles on board . With the XD3 you select a style catagory and all styles are listed next to fucntion buttons in the LCD display .

It's very different choosing styles and sounds on both units .