SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#85170 - 07/19/05 08:42 PM Going in to business
zuki Offline

As an outside salesman, I am tired of the low pay for the long hours. Not that I am not appreciative of the perks associated with being an employee, but I have the A personality to tackle it myself. Recently, I was shafted again by greedy owners, enough to make me think seriously of going on my own. Question: Who has been in the same position as me and made the plunge? What were the results? Was the grass too green, is there really a chance to make it with hard and diligent work? Any responses appreciated.
zuki

Studio: Korg PA4X/Yamaha DGX670/Boss BR900CD/Tascam DP24SD/MTM Iloud/Sony C80/AGK 214/K&M stand

#85171 - 07/19/05 10:33 PM Re: Going in to business
DonM Offline

Loc: Benton, LA, USA
I "made it" in three different businesses. First was a weekly shopper newspaper 30 years ago. I sold out at a wonderful price after only five years.
In 1988 I opened a night club and it was probably the most successful in town for seven years. Doing all my own entertainment was the key!
I later owned a golf driving range and club-making business. It was just starting to make it when I lost the lease on the land.
I've also been pretty successful as an entertainer for the past 30 years.
The pitfalls are paying your own retirement, insurance, etc., but it CAN be done if you want to do it badly enough.
DonM

#85172 - 07/20/05 07:51 AM Re: Going in to business
BEBOP Offline

Loc: San Jose, California
Many companies are started with the last paycheck including the first one of my five.
It doesn't take a lot of money to start a company if you have a marketable talent and the work ethic to succeed.
However, it does take a lot of money to GROW a company.
Most new businesses fail in the first three years. If you make it to the fourth year start looking for a money tree and make plans for growth.