SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#50930 - 07/25/05 07:41 AM Bug in the Panasonic USB MIDI driver
MarkW Offline

I've come across a very annoying problem that seems to be caused by this driver. The driver works fine when the KN7000 is connected to the computer, but causes other MIDI applications to fail when the KN7000 is not connected. You get an error on start-up of more than 50% of the MIDI apps that I've tried about an invalid parameter being passed to a system function. Some applications just exit at this stage, and others continue.

If I uninstall the Panasonic drivers, the problem goes away, but then I can't connect my KN7000. Reinstalling the drivers following the procedure in the supplied installation guide brings back the problem.

I am a developer and as such have been able to investigate the problem a little. What seems to happen is that the Panasonic USB MIDI driver is included in the count of available MIDI ports, even when the KN7000 is not connected (I always make sure to click the Remove Safely icon before disconnecting). Then, most applications will then make a system call to find out details about the available MIDI ports. The error occurs when an application tries to find out the device capabilities (DevCaps) for the Panasonic MIDI port. This call fails, presumably because the device is not present.

Has anyone else experienced this problem, and better still, does anyone have any idea how to work around it?

This is a real pain!

Thanks in advance for any help forum members may be able to offer.

Mark.

P.S. This is on Windows XP Pro with all the latest updates.

[This message has been edited by MarkW (edited 07-25-2005).]

#50931 - 07/25/05 11:11 AM Re: Bug in the Panasonic USB MIDI driver
shcox Offline

Loc: Leesburg, FL USA
Hi Mark,