SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#31583 - 10/18/07 06:00 AM Newbie question
Runedog Offline

Loc: Grimsby, North East Lincolnshi...
Hi

Good to be here. Can I have your input on the following:

I am a retired drummer of many years and I now wish to take up learning keyboard. I had narrowed down my choices to the Roland E-80 or the Korg PA800 but have been recently advised to look into the Ketron SD5.

Can you tell me why you believe this keyboard shines above the other two, i.e. sounds etc?

Also, I am visually challenged: Is the Ketron SD5 easy to work with ect?

Many thanks for any input.

Kind regards

------------------
Runedog

#31584 - 10/18/07 06:30 AM Re: Newbie question
DanO1 Offline

Loc: Maryland
Raised buttons on the SD5 with dramtically help with navigating the Ketron vs. using a touch screen on the Korg & Roland keyboard.

You can email me privately for more info..

You may want to consider a SD1plus ...

dan.oneil@yahoo.com

------------------
[URL=http://www.esnips.com/web/SongsfromDanO
http://www.esnips.com/web/SongsfromDanO
ketrondan@yahoo.com[/URL] or keyboardcity@yahoo.com

#31585 - 10/18/07 06:33 PM Re: Newbie question
stirling boy Offline

Loc: Scotland
Hi Runedog
As an ex drummer myself i am sure you are going to love the Ketron drum sound's and patterns.
To my ears they are without doubt some of the best in the business. Try to listen to the original SD1 demos, particularly the Ac Drummer demo.
As a long term SD1 player even to this day when i hear a particular fill i think that is exactly what i would have played.
As for the choice between the SD1plus or the SD5, i have had no experience with the SD5 but if it were me and i was going to be gigging a lot i would choose the SD1+, if it's for the house it would be the SD5 but as always try them both first.
Hope that helps a bit
Cheers
Sandy

#31586 - 10/19/07 12:40 AM Re: Newbie question
Runedog Offline

Thanks for your comments chaps, most helpful, keep them coming