SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#8492 - 12/11/07 02:24 AM Help...
terryryan2005 Offline

Loc: Birmingham
Hello, I am new to the music scene and would like some advise on synth's.

I would like to make Trance music, but unlike IDM artists it is pretty difficult to find out about the equipment of the likes of Sasha or The Field.

What Synth's suit the Trance genre...?

------------------
Music has the right to children, disucss...

#8493 - 12/11/07 04:37 AM Re: Help...
kbrkr Offline

Loc: Tampa, FL
Any synth with an arpeggiator, really.

Take a look at the Korg M3. It has great tools for doing trance and prog beats. Plus it has a built-in KAOSS screen.

------------------
Al Giordano
http://www.arrangerworld.com

Tyros 2, Yamaha P-250, Korg Triton Extreme 76, Roland VK8-M, DW Collectors Series Drums, Roland SPD-S.

Pa4x - LD Systems Maui 28 - Mackie Thumps

#8494 - 12/11/07 09:42 AM Re: Help...
terryryan2005 Offline

Loc: Birmingham
Cheers mate, but could you reccomend something cheaper, 1500 quid is a little out of my budget...

------------------
Music has the right to children, disucss...

#8495 - 12/11/07 09:49 AM Re: Help...
3351 Offline

Loc: Toronto, Canada.
Quote:
Originally posted by terryryan2005:
Hello, I am new to the music scene and would like some advise on synth's.

I would like to make Trance music, but unlike IDM artists it is pretty difficult to find out about the equipment of the likes of Sasha or The Field.

What Synth's suit the Trance genre...?

I recommend that you talk to a few hardcore trancers over at www.virusti.com. Professionally speaking you can make trance with almost anything nowadays but if you'd actually see the gear lists of some of the artists you've mentioned you'd go nuts. They are endless. Just go on and on listing all kinds of stuff.