SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#1454 - 08/19/03 09:48 PM Hello! I'm new.....and have a question.....
Silverknight Offline

I'm new to both this forum, and the world of keyboards. I have been playing the piano since I was in early elementary school, (can't remember the exact year). I'm sixteen now, and after taking a few years of a break from piano, a new spark has has been lit this past year or so. My Grandparents had an old, cheap keyboard, that wasn't getting any use with them.....so they gave it to me, and I've been fooling around with it ever since, (got it about a year ago, once again). This has been REALLY fun for me, because it's easy to make the change from piano to keyboard. Also, some of my favorite bands, who play power, or progressive, or gothic metal have been a spark in my keyboarding interest. I am particularly inspired by the band Nightwish, and the work of the keyboardist/composer Tuomas in that band (if any of you have heard of them, I'd like to do the same melodic/symphonic/dark playing that he does). All I know is that Tuomas plays a Korg model of some sort.

Now, my parents recently promised they'd help buy a new "nicer" keyboard, due to my confirmation. I need your guy's help. The world of keyboards is vast and confusing, and despite a lot of research, I'm not positive what model I want to buy.

I'd like to have many of the workstation features (controllers, arpeggiators, etc.). Bells and whistles are great. Programming isn't a HUGE deal for me, however. Also, I'd like the sounds to be fairly realistic and "warm" sounds. But some the the "new-age" sounds and atmospheric pads would be a plus too. I'd like a nice-working sequencer for recording and organizing songs. And MIDI functions as well. The price range should ideally be $1,000 or less.

Can any of you guys suggest some models that would fit or come close to the description I described? ANY help would be SO appreciated! Thank you very much!