SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#4148 - 01/18/03 01:05 PM How to emulate sliding funk guitar sound
djslim Offline

Loc: Pittsburgh, PA, U.S.A.
Hi, I'm a total newbie here. I would like to recreate a funky sliding guitar sound and slap/popping analog bass sound with a synth... is this at all possible? or do I need to sample one sound from a real instrument and just pitch shift stuff? What other methods besides getting somebody to play a riff for you do I have to achieve this effect?

much thanx!

#4149 - 01/19/03 08:51 PM Re: How to emulate sliding funk guitar sound
Soft Machine Offline

I don't think its possible on any type of keyboard

and besides, why would anyone bust his balls trying to find this out when taking a simple guitar(even an acoustic or the worst possible electric guitars ever made) with a bottleneck can do the trick

#4150 - 01/19/03 10:44 PM Re: How to emulate sliding funk guitar sound
djslim Offline

oh, I think I misphrased my question. I meant actually playing a funk riff on a guitar. so people who cannot play the guitar well enough to recreate that riff could use such technique.

#4151 - 01/19/03 11:40 PM Re: How to emulate sliding funk guitar sound
Cloakboy Offline

Loc: Racine, Wisconsin USA
Quote:
Originally posted by djslim:
oh, I think I misphrased my question. I meant actually playing a funk riff on a guitar. so people who cannot play the guitar well enough to recreate that riff could use such technique.

You could bust your balls trying to do that on a synth for months and still end up with something that sounds... fake.

Seriously, either record it yourself, get a friend to play it, or find a sample. Synths aren't magical wonder instruments that can imitate any instrument sound out there, that's just what the marketing depts want you to think.

#4152 - 01/20/03 02:26 PM Re: How to emulate sliding funk guitar sound
Chris Attison Offline

Loc: Long Island, NY.