SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#99986 - 09/03/03 11:32 AM Something that bothers me....
Wazza Offline

Loc: Sonnega, Friesland, The Nether...
I've heard several people saying, that, when you start playing keyboard/piano at an older age then, lets say, about 6-10 years of age, you wont be able to play as proficient and skilled as someone who started at around 8 years of age.
And its bothering me, because I started playing 2 years ago when I was 15.
I asked the music teacher from my previous school why he recommend me and others to start playing guitar rather than keyboard, he replied: "I don't recommend it because when someone begins playing keyboard or piano at your age your fingers won't develop that well anymore, If you want to be real skilled you have to start approximately at 8 years of age, not much later than that".
So is it true that people like me who started at a later age, that they will never develop real good "piano fingers", and will never be as skilled as they could have been if they started playing earlier?.
I love music, and my ultimate goal is to become a pro.
But is that achievable?
Does this mean I can never develop "virtuoso fingers"... Even if I practise real hard?.
Hope someone can give me some advice and clarification.
Thanx,

Greetz ,
Marcel

[This message has been edited by Wazza (edited 09-03-2003).]

#99987 - 09/03/03 11:43 AM Re: Something that bothers me....
The Accordionist Offline

It's baloney. It's kind of like the old adage about how kids in dual-language families develop second-language skills at increidbly rapid rates but adults have to take years of classes. I'm sure there's a degree of truth to it, but I always thought the reason was because the kids were immersed in it and really didn't have a whole lot else going on. My friends that moved as adults to Mexico to learn the language were fluent in 6 months due to immersion.