SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#981 - 01/25/07 07:23 AM looking to get equipment, not sure what yet
Anonymous
Unregistered

Hi I'm new to this board & new to the game. So new I'm not even there yet.

Background:
Been a pianist for a long time, developed an interest in "electronica" over the last few years. Had a brief stint with a band where I was forced quickly to learn MIDI and Reason. I bought the M-Audio Keystation Pro88 which I've now sold because of it being too heavy.

What I want is a setup I'll be able to play live in clubs / bars / parties.

Being a pianist I've pencilled in getting the light edition which is the same 88 beautiful keys (i think) for half the weight. it just doesn't have the multitudes of knobs.

I'll run it through a laptop which'll probably be running Reason (although i'm interested in other software like Live). For a soundcard, i'm thinking of getting the E-Mu 1616. It seems quite a limited market for professional standard pcmcia/cardbus soundcards??

Now, here come my questions:
Firstly, I want another MIDI controller for rotary knobs, pad buttons & loooooads of sliders. I haven't looked at the market at all I admit, so don't have a clue as to what's out there. My wants are that it is as portable as possible and USB-powered.

Secondly, I'll need an amp & speakers for playing gigs. I don't really know what I'm looking for though? A few people I've talked to suggest going through 15" subs & tweeters? I don't have any idea.

anyway, thanks for your time,
J

#982 - 01/25/07 06:56 PM Re: looking to get equipment, not sure what yet
RobertG Offline

Loc: Southeastern PA, USA
Make sure you try before you buy or know the return policy when looking at keyboards. Light is great. But there is always compromises. You may hate the action.

For a midi controller with knobs I like the M-Audio axiom.

Fran recently got a keyboard amp that he likes. Lots of people on this site like the Bose system.