SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 2 of 4 < 1 2 3 4 >
Topic Options
#96765 - 11/18/05 10:21 AM Re: Commercial SMF's
ChicoBrasil Offline

Loc: Belo Horizonte,Minas Gerais,Br...
My 2 cents about this issue:

AS smf player(arranger or others), any enterteiner can make a good work,as well as a DJ.
The musical knowledge is not the more important factor.
When playing sequences in kbds,to pretend play keys that fingers cannot do is sad...
To make LIVE music, without the help of sequences, the true musician appears .
Chico

#96766 - 11/18/05 10:24 AM Re: Commercial SMF's
tony mads usa Offline

Loc: East Greenwich RI USA
Quote:
Originally posted by Roel:
but hey ..... I'm a musician, NOT a discjockey !!

Roel ... I'm not saying you're not a musician (and this argument has reared its head before on these pages), but let's face the fact that as long as we are using arranger kbs the performance is not soley our own...
While the use of on board styles generally allows for more flexibility, for some of us there are times when the use of an SMF is appropriate ... and with my technics kn6000 I can make lots of changes on the fly to meet my needs at the time ... AND... I always play live with the SMF ...
To paraphrase Dnj, it's all tools of the trade ... use what you need, add your heart and soul, and satisfy the audience AND yourself !!! ...
t.

#96767 - 11/18/05 10:26 AM Re: Commercial SMF's
Fran Carango Offline

Loc: Levittown, Pa, USA
Roel you use short sequenced loops[don't be mistaken, that is exactly how styles are consisted]...and I use fully arranged sequences..You are no more a musician playing left hand chords to trigger these short sequences than I or any one else playing over a SMF..

It takes a musician for both arranger and SMF performances to do it right.

I don't need the smilies to make my point!!

#96768 - 11/18/05 10:41 AM Re: Commercial SMF's
ChicoBrasil Offline

Loc: Belo Horizonte,Minas Gerais,Br...