SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#94502 - 11/11/06 09:40 AM I play in a band
comrad Offline

I play in a band and I have a lot of piano playing experience but I just don't know how to play with our band. Right now I just hold down the chords and just play with my right hand some solo's that acts like a 3rd voice. I want some ideas on how to play with a rock band.

#94503 - 11/11/06 09:52 AM Re: I play in a band
Fran Carango Offline

Loc: Levittown, Pa, USA
If you have rhythm guitars in your band..you probably should just chord, and play turn-arounds and leading chords..Then when your solo time is on..do your thing and let the guitars follow you.

Is there a bass player, or do you play left hand bass..If you play bass than the guitars should get use to following you.

I am taking for granted that you are not using an arranger in the band..

#94504 - 11/11/06 11:21 AM Re: I play in a band
kbrkr Offline

Loc: Tampa, FL
The best thing to do is listen to other performances and how the kb player put's fills , solo's and rhythm into songs. You don't want to play full triads when you play. You really want the 3rd and 5th notes usually in the 3rd or 4th octave range depending on the song. Playing the root note will conflict with either the bass or guitar. Try to fill in with some tasty fills, arps, and what I call twinkles between quiet parts. If the guitar solos, try to hold down the basic chords so the song stays grounded. Don't play left hand bass at all if you have a bass player, and be careful on your strumming to keep the beat with the drummer.

And don't be afraid to use your horns, strings, flutes, and synths.

Good Luck
Al

------------------
Al Giordano
www.al-giordano.com

Tyros 2, Yamaha P-250, Korg Triton Extreme 76, Roland VK8-M, DW Collectors Series Drums

Pa4x - LD Systems Maui 28 - Mackie Thumps

#94505 - 11/11/06 11:42 AM Re: I play in a band
comrad Offline

Our band of consists of the following:
1 bass