SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#94361 - 11/03/05 03:01 AM Tyros 1 vs Tyros 2 Upgrade for non-pros
Amelius Offline
Member

Registered: 02/21/01
Posts: 109
Loc: Milan, Italy
.

------------------
Amelio
_________________________
Amelio

Top
#94362 - 11/03/05 03:27 AM Re: Tyros 1 vs Tyros 2 Upgrade for non-pros
Amelius Offline
Member

Registered: 02/21/01
Posts: 109
Loc: Milan, Italy
Hi everyone.

I do hope that this thread will help many in the near future to make up their minds.

I was able to spend time on the T2 today and, as a happy T1 owner (and Yammy P120 piano), I am considering pro and cons in the upgrade.
I am sure this issue will include comments from pros (pardon this definition: friends on this forum playing arrangers to make their main part of income).

But having the non-pro player in mind (though pro in playing skills), I have come up with the following list of major plus in the upgrade:

Main Pro:
- BETTER KEYS
- SA voices
- sampler
- hd recording
- new styles (?)

On the other hand, the cost for the upgrade here in Europe is around Euro 1.200+, money that you could spend to buy a second hand pro keyboard, or a new synth module such as Roland Fantom XR and else.

I appreciate that for a pro player, the benefit of ALL in ONE keyboard IS worth (IMHO) the upgrade, but if you are (or if you were) a non-pro player...

The bottom line will be your personal decision, but what's your personal idea on this?

Comments appreciated

Ciao
_________________________
Amelio

Top
#94363 - 11/03/05 04:26 AM Re: Tyros 1 vs Tyros 2 Upgrade for non-pros
kbrkr Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 11/19/02
Posts: 2839
Loc: Tampa, FL
Very good post Amelius.

For me, the incremental cost of the T2 vs. T1 is only $400.00. Since I purchased the T1 for $2500.00 and the cost of the T2 through my local supplier is $2900.00. I think the added features in the T2 are worth the incremental cost here in the U.S.

Al
_________________________
Al

Pa4x - Genos - LD Systems Maui 28 - Mackie Thumps

Top
#94364 - 11/03/05 05:07 AM Re: Tyros 1 vs Tyros 2 Upgrade for non-pros
chony Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 03/10/04
Posts: 1247
Loc: New York
If I wasn't a pro player, ie, I never have to move my equipment around, I would probably not upgrade, and would instead invest either in a sound module, or even better in software samplers. The quality, versatility, and range of software sounds beats what's available on keyboards or modules, hands down.

Hope it helps.

Top
#94365 - 11/07/05 03:21 AM Re: Tyros 1 vs Tyros 2 Upgrade for non-pros
Amelius Offline
Member

Registered: 02/21/01
Posts: 109
Loc: Milan, Italy
I wish to add to the plus list:

- direct HD recording (huge plus)
- external hd via usb to store data (btw, can you access it direct to load styles, songs as the internal hd?)

Ciao
Amelio
_________________________
Amelio

Top
#94366 - 11/07/05 06:27 AM Re: Tyros 1 vs Tyros 2 Upgrade for non-pros
Dnj Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 09/21/00
Posts: 41472
Keep the T1 get an external HD recorder.

Top

Moderator:  Admin 



Help keep Synth Zone Online