SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#91952 - 05/05/03 09:26 AM Yanni World Tour 2003
SBPC Offline

Loc: Goleta, CA, USA
What a treat it was to be able to attend one of Yanni’s concerts in Anaheim, California this past Saturday evening. Everything about this show was suburb - the musicianship, the lighting, the sound, and the use of video in a multimedia setting. And since Yanni is a self-taught keyboardist (who doesn’t read music, by the way) every one of his numbers (most of which he composed) featured sounds from one or more keyboards. Yanni uses six keyboards himself and he has two other outstanding keyboard players who use multiple keyboards as well. In addition there are another 25 or so musicians in his orchestra. This show featured a variety of instruments such as a hammered dulcimer, a Peruvian harp, a Chinese flute, and an Australian aboriginal horn known as a didgeridoo.

The show was a solid three hours of music. There was only one 15-minute break after the first hour and a quarter. Typically Yanni would alternate between a “mood” song in which he would play the grand piano and then for the next number would switch back to a livelier number where he would return to his array of keyboards and perform. Interestingly (in light of recent posting on this Forum) the only time Yanni sat to perform was when he played the grand piano. His other keyboardists stood for the entire evening as well.