SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#74176 - 10/15/01 12:03 PM DJX questions
defresh_2000 Offline

Loc: Bellingham, WA, USA
I just got a Yamaha DJX and was wondering if anyone could teach me some basics like syncing it up with ReBirth and Cakewalk. I am an extreme novice with no clues how to set it up with my PC. Please help!

#74177 - 10/16/01 12:03 AM Re: DJX questions
grahawk Offline

DJX or DJXII? They are very different in many ways and I'll need to know before I can help.
http://www.geocities.com/dj_white_rice/ is a good info source.

#74178 - 10/16/01 08:53 AM Re: DJX questions
defresh_2000 Offline

Thanks for the reply Grahawk. I own the DJX 1 and just found a page to setup a template to get the keyboard to respond to changes I make within cakewalk. I guess my questions now are how to write tracks/sequences that will play on the keyboard itself or play on the keboard and insert into Cakewalk. I am VERY new to Cakewalk. Thank you.

#74179 - 10/17/01 01:26 AM Re: DJX questions
grahawk Offline

Firstly I assume you have a midi cable - you probably need one that plugs into your joystick port unless you have a really good soundcard with normal midi in and out connections. Make sure the midi out lead plugs into the midi in socket on the DJX and the in lead goes into the out.

If your recording from the DJX (midi) make sure the source is selected as MPU-401, which is the standard midi socket (may be called something else if you have a decent soundcard), though once you've loaded the DJX instrument definitions into Cakewalk you can select DJX instead which allows you to choose the voice using bank and patch boxes in the track properties. If you haven't done this select instruments from the tools menu then select define and then import and choose the djx .ins file assuming you've downloaded this. Once you press record in Cakewalk it will start recording whatever you play.