SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#73484 - 05/11/06 06:56 PM DX7 fdII Floppy's
CrackerJack Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 05/11/06
Posts: 7
Loc: Webb City, MO USA
Where can I get floppy's for this ancient machine?

Top
#73485 - 05/16/06 04:47 PM Re: DX7 fdII Floppy's
Nigel Offline
Admin

Registered: 06/01/98
Posts: 5924
Loc: Ventura CA USA
You can buy them from http://www.hometown.aol.com/mishon66/index.html
They aren't exactly cheap but they are about the only place you can find them now. And it beats losing the ability to use your DX7 FDII

Top
#73486 - 05/19/06 09:52 PM Re: DX7 fdII Floppy's
CrackerJack Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 05/11/06
Posts: 7
Loc: Webb City, MO USA
I'm looking for new sounds for the DX7 II fd. Anyone know where I can get floppy's with sound files?

Top
#73487 - 05/19/06 10:58 PM Re: DX7 fdII Floppy's
Nigel Offline
Admin

Registered: 06/01/98
Posts: 5924
Loc: Ventura CA USA
Sorry, I thought you were referring to the floppy drives not the disks themselves. Patchman Music have a couple of banks available for sale http://www.patchmanmusic.com/yamahaDX7II.html and Greytsounds have 4 sound sets available at http://www.greytsounds.com/gs/ssi/ssi-yamaha2.html?CXT=2076758511

But other than these you won't find many others around for this synth nowadays but there are 1000s of free DX7 patches available online that you could use to build your own DX7II patches yourself.

Top
#73488 - 05/22/06 11:14 AM Re: DX7 fdII Floppy's
CrackerJack Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 05/11/06
Posts: 7
Loc: Webb City, MO USA
I found some public domain patches here: http://search.netscape.com/ns/boomframe.jsp?query=dx7+patches&page=1&offset=0&result_url=redir%3Fsrc%3Dwebsearch%26requestId%3Dbd81eca091c47298%26clickedItemRank%3D6%26userQuery%3D dx7%2Bpatches%26clickedItemURN%3Dhttp%253A%252F%252Fwww.yamahasynth.com%252Fproducts%252Fdx%252Findex.html%26invocationType%3D-%26fromPage%3DMyNS%26amp%3BampTest%3D1&remove_url=htt p%3A%2F%2Fwww.yamahasynth.com%2Fproducts%2Fdx%2Findex.html

But I don't know how to load them to my DX7 II. I use MOTU Performer as a sequencer and FreeMIDI so I'm not familiar with OMS. Can you step me thru transferring these patches or is it too complicated to describe?

Top
#73489 - 05/22/06 01:24 PM Re: DX7 fdII Floppy's
Nigel Offline
Admin

Registered: 06/01/98
Posts: 5924
Loc: Ventura CA USA
I'm not familiar with MIDI on the Mac but it doesn't seem like it should really be dependant on only using OMS. Can you use the PC MIDI files and play them using Performer and Free MIDI? If you can then that should play the sysex data to your DXII FD.

Top
#73490 - 05/22/06 02:24 PM Re: DX7 fdII Floppy's
CrackerJack Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 05/11/06
Posts: 7
Loc: Webb City, MO USA
Do I need to download these to the DX7 before using them?

Top
#73491 - 05/24/06 10:47 AM Re: DX7 fdII Floppy's
Nigel Offline
Admin

Registered: 06/01/98
Posts: 5924
Loc: Ventura CA USA
No. By playing them in your computer sequencer it will send the sysex data over MIDI to the DX7 ( assuming Performer will send sysex data but I'm sure it will ). But make sure you have first saved the current sounds in your DX7 to a disk or over sysex to your computer before you do because they will be overwritten by the sysex dump.

Top
#73492 - 05/24/06 10:50 AM Re: DX7 fdII Floppy's
Nigel Offline
Admin

Registered: 06/01/98
Posts: 5924
Loc: Ventura CA USA
It's been so long since I used the DX7 I can't remember whether you have to put it in bulk dump mode before it will accept the sysex data. I have a feeling that may be the case. Check with the manual.

Top
#73493 - 05/24/06 10:56 AM Re: DX7 fdII Floppy's
CrackerJack Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 05/11/06
Posts: 7
Loc: Webb City, MO USA
Thanks.

Top
#73494 - 05/24/06 11:03 AM Re: DX7 fdII Floppy's
CrackerJack Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 05/11/06
Posts: 7
Loc: Webb City, MO USA
The transfer couldn't erase a loaded disk, could it? Wouldn't the patches simply go to the kybd? I guess I could remove the disc for safe keeping...

Top
#73495 - 05/24/06 10:30 PM Re: DX7 fdII Floppy's
Nigel Offline
Admin

Registered: 06/01/98
Posts: 5924
Loc: Ventura CA USA
No, the transfer definately won't touch the disk. A sysex dump is only to the synth's memory and never triggers hardware access like writing to a drive. It is up to you once the transfer to memory has happened whether you choose to then save it to disk or not.

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Moderator:  Admin 



Help keep Synth Zone Online