SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#73340 - 06/16/00 12:59 PM PSR-740/CS6X/RM1X Purchase Decision - Help!
Bryan Offline

Loc: Wappingers Falls, New York, US...
Hello everyone.

I am a dance-oriented artist who owns the Yamaha DJX keyboard. I'm looking to upgrade VERY shortly, and I need some help.

What I would like to do is simply 'go the next logical step' from the DJX. I'm confused about a lot of things about various equipment, and I'll try to explain them here.

Models I am considering and the questions:

1. PSR-740 ($1099) -- This seems to be my first choice. This keyboard would provide me lots of high-quality sounds, styles other than purely dance (which is nice, although I will not use most of them), and the vocal harmonizer.

The problem is that I would lose the DJX styles which I love. I'm assuming, though, that the DJX styles could me somehow converted via MIDI to a custom 'style file' -- or I could simply follow the format of the DJX and play them on my own and quantize the beats and melody lines. Does anyone have any experience with doing this? Is sending MIDI data through the 740 possible when recording a custom style?

Second thing -- 'BUGS'. I've heard that in both ROM versions (1.0 and 2.0) that the vocal harmonizer is not effective in the 'intro' and 'ending' of the styles. Not a biggie, but is this true? Is there any other bugs that have been reported on the 740 that I should know about?