SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 2 of 3 < 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#7116 - 03/12/04 06:36 PM Re: Arrangers Rule
FAEbGBD Offline

Loc: Nashvville TN
I'm actually thinking about purchasing a Tyros. I like the sound quality from demos I've heard, but I would really like to get my hands on one first. I'm professional, to the point where I make my living performing and producing and have had minor radio success. I've never used an arranger up to this point, and I stilll probably won't use it for the majority of my work; the sounds yes, the styles no. Even the styles will come in handy though for instant drum loops for helping to create ideas and sketches. Plus it would be a handy tool when I'm hired to do a cheap production or if I can't be in the studio at all, so at least the performer can get some semblance of accompaniment without me spending days on it.

#7117 - 03/12/04 11:55 PM Re: Arrangers Rule
Uncle Dave Offline

Loc: Penn Yan, NY
Carefull!!!!! The keys are tiny compared to a FULL sized kb like you're used to. Some folks have compromised their technique to adjust to it, but I just can;t. It squashes my octave spread too much. I think it's about an 1/8" per octave or more.

#7118 - 03/13/04 08:11 AM Re: Arrangers Rule
Vadim Offline

If You aren`t gonna use any styles, Workstation might be better, most of the styles on Tyros are same as on previous Yamahas (psr-2000, psr-9000 etc..) but there are new styles (like Schlager), I played on it, It looks cool, but most(not everything) is the same.

#7119 - 03/13/04 08:59 AM Re: Arrangers Rule
Bluezplayer Offline

Loc: Catskill Mountains, NY
Rory

There are other options available if the styles aren't going to be the main focus of what you'll use your next board for. I agree that the Tyros has good sounds, but I passed on it because I wouldn't use the styles all that much.