SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#7097 - 04/29/05 10:11 PM Synth To Laptop Question ...
hauschild Offline

Loc: lisle,il,usa
Guys,

I recently purchased an ES7 and need would like the most efficient method of connecting the synth to my laptop. I've got a Dell Inspirion 9100, 3ghz, 1 gig ram.

I've also got Sonar4 installed, but when it loads, it can't find an acceptable sound card.

I'm a big newbie, so I need advice on the best direction to go. Should I get an external sound card, or should I go with the mlan16 expansion board? I've researched both, but I'm not sure if I'm mixing apples with oranges???

Basically, what's the easiest and/or best method to record from my synth to the Sonar4 application?

Thanks!

#7098 - 04/30/05 12:58 AM Re: Synth To Laptop Question ...
Sheriff Offline

Loc: Frankfurt, Hessen, Germany
Well, IMHO you have to find your sound card first before you make any further steps. You want to need your PC system as a controller (it's your own choice ), so your PC is the brain in your hardware arrangement. A brain without connections to any kind of interface that is required for your work is totally useless. It's absolutely recommended that your system knows and drives the sound card.

I know that WindowsXP has really many problems in a bundle but it is proclaimed by MS that you should have all the needed drivers (but this seems to me like just another lie). Well, before I give you the tip to downgrade your system to Win2000 there will be some points to clear:

[*]Your system doesn't find the sound card?
Try another PCI slot and install your driver again.

[*]Your system doesn't find the right driver?
Try another driver from your driver CD. If all fails then ask your dealer for the right driver.

[*]What chipset do you use?
It's rumoured that the VIA chipset doesn't support the ASIOdirect standard. DELL Inspiron? Well, I think they're using the Intel's chipset. Strike this posibility...

[*]Are you using ASIOdirect?