SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#70952 - 04/30/00 01:52 PM Broken SY77 Disk Drive
Anonymous
Unregistered

I've got an SY77 with a broken disk drive. Does anyone have any experience replacing one of these ?

#70953 - 05/01/00 01:43 AM Re: Broken SY77 Disk Drive
snoids Offline

Loc: Spring Hill, FL, USA
Jeffery
I had the same problem and a member named WhiteNoise was kind enough to post an excellrnt reply. I have not had time to follow up on it, but I have pasted the response I got below:
hehe I understand your apprehension. When I do these things, I just tell myself that I won't do anything that I don't know how to do. I do know how to unscrew screws and as long as I can unscrew screws and things just simply lift off after that, then I'm ok.

As background, I am not an engineer or anything like that. I am a finance guy!!! So I hope that makes you feel better.

1. If you flip the 77 over with the back facing up there are quite a few screws to get out. Once you take them all out, the back comes off fairly easy. There is nothing attached to it. It's just a metal shell.

2. You should be able to see and get to the disk drive. I think there are a few screws (4 at most) that you need to unscrew to be able to slide this out. Once you've done that, I remember it sliding out pretty easily.