SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#69383 - 10/29/09 09:11 AM Problem
D.Munson Offline
Member

Registered: 02/28/04
Posts: 397
Loc: UK
On the KN7000, there is a style called "Stride Piano". I tried to play it on my KN2600 by saving it to composer on the KN7000 and loading it on the KN2600, however the style that loaded was a slow rock instead of stride piano.How can I load it onto the to the KN2600? Any ideas would be appreciated. Derek
_________________________
DFmunson

Top
#69384 - 10/29/09 09:53 AM Re: Problem
Audrey Turner Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 03/19/02
Posts: 1098
Loc: Cambridge, Cambs, England
Hi Derek,

Does your kN2600 take SD Cards? If it does, I would just call up the Stride Piano on the KN7000 (tweak it' if you need to), save it to a Panel Memory and then save it to your SD Card.

Having done that, load the SD Card into your KN2600 in the usual way. I'm not sure if it will work because to be honest, I've never seen a 'live' KN2600 and don't know much about it, but that's how I would do it.

Good luck!

Audrey

Top
#69385 - 10/29/09 10:15 AM Re: Problem
RMepstead Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/15/02
Posts: 1565
Loc: Wootton Bassett - Wiltshire - ...
Hi Audrey and Derek
Derek would first have to copy the style into Rhythms Memory Load as follows...
Program Menus - Composer - Pattern Copy -
Group - Movie and show
Rhythm - Stride Piano
Pattern - All
TO
Memory A:
Pattern All
and click OK
Then press Memory load in the rhythm group and then save that to SD Card.
One other thing Derek and that is make sure that you haven't got any sequenced music loaded/resident in the keyboard before you start this process.
Rog
_________________________
Roger M

Top
#69386 - 10/29/09 03:59 PM Re: Problem
Audrey Turner Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 03/19/02
Posts: 1098
Loc: Cambridge, Cambs, England
Why would you have to do all that Rog?

As I said all I do is call it up as if I was going to play it, save it to the SD Card and then load into another keyboard. I always work in the EXPAND mode which saves absolutely everything all at once but as I also said, I know very little about the KN2600 so perhaps it has a different operating system to the KN7.

I'd like to know why though?

Audrey

Top
#69387 - 10/29/09 04:21 PM Re: Problem
bruno123 Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/04/02
Posts: 4271
Loc: West Palm Beach, FL 33417
Can Kn7000 styles be played on a Kn2600???

I have forgotten, did the Kn2600 come out before the Kn7 or after the Kn7.

John C.

Top
#69388 - 10/29/09 05:58 PM Re: Problem
Bob Hendershot Offline
Member

Registered: 12/02/99
Posts: 924
Loc: Johnson City, TN USA
You're right Roger. For accurate use of the KN7000 built in style with the KN2600, the internal style pattern should first be moved to the Composer. It will be contained in the composer file of the saved style. So, as you said, you use Program Menu - Composer - Pattern Copy to move the built in style to the composer. Then simply save to SD. The result can then be used with the KN2600.

The KN2600 was the last of the Technics keyboards. Yes, it can play KN7000 styles, but it will have to use whatever it finds close (and not necessarily the same as the KN7000) in it's own internal styles if the Composer is not used.

Top
#69389 - 10/29/09 06:26 PM Re: Problem
Bob Hendershot Offline
Member

Registered: 12/02/99
Posts: 924
Loc: Johnson City, TN USA
Derek, you said that you copied the internal style to the Composer. That should work, but I suspect you may have copied to memory A and are trying to play from B or C, or even possibly an internal style. Sometimes it works best to copy the style to all three Composer memory locations (so that you don't accidently use the wrong one) and be sure to use the "ALL" selection as Roger said. Then be sure to use the Composer rather than a built in style. I routinely use KN7000 styles with the KN2600.

Top
#69390 - 10/30/09 02:25 AM Re: Problem
RMepstead Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/15/02
Posts: 1565
Loc: Wootton Bassett - Wiltshire - ...
Hi Audrey
Consider the receiving keyboard (kn2600) to be a different model (which it is) with different styles/rhythms (which it has) and so if you just saved the registration on your KN7000 to an SD Card it cannot find/ recognise what is not there in the KN2600 (e.g. stride piano in this instance)...so you get it there by taking that standard style/rhythm to composer in the KN7000 first, by which means the whole .cmp file can be moved to the new model. I'm sure Bob would explain it better...chuckle
Rog
p.s. Panel memories are just organised registrations of set ups for your model which wouldn't necessarily mean anything to a different model of Technics keyboard. Not of course forgetting John's point about which models are compatible with which other models...complicated innit!

[This message has been edited by RMepstead (edited 10-30-2009).]
_________________________
Roger M

Top
#69391 - 10/30/09 06:53 AM Re: Problem
Bob Hendershot Offline
Member

Registered: 12/02/99
Posts: 924
Loc: Johnson City, TN USA
Derek, I assume you know that any panel memories that select the built in Stride Piano rhythm at the KN7000 will have to be changed to select the Composer at the KN2600.

I have also found that almost every style that is moved from the KN7000 to the KN2600 needs editing of the voices used, because the two keyboards handle sound edits differently. But, in the case of the Stride Piano the sounds should be relatively compatible.

Top
#69392 - 10/30/09 10:15 AM Re: Problem
D.Munson Offline
Member

Registered: 02/28/04
Posts: 397
Loc: UK
Quote:
Originally posted by RMepstead:
Hi Audrey and Derek
Derek would first have to copy the style into Rhythms Memory Load as follows...
Program Menus - Composer - Pattern Copy -
Group - Movie and show
Rhythm - Stride Piano
Pattern - All
TO
Memory A:
Pattern All
and click OK
Then press Memory load in the rhythm group and then save that to SD Card.
One other thing Derek and that is make sure that you haven't got any sequenced music loaded/resident in the keyboard before you start this process.
Rog


Thank you Rog and Bob for your quick response
to the problem. I will try your suggestions and report back to you. Derek
_________________________
DFmunson

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >

Moderator:  Admin 



Help keep Synth Zone Online