SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#68894 - 07/13/09 08:24 AM KN7000
fumblefingers Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 07/13/09
Posts: 3
Has anyone experienced a KN7000 losing the sound output while playing? It returns after a couple of seconds or minutes. The keyboard is still working but no sound. Its the same whether on headphones or not. I've moved both volume slider controls with no change. I wondered if there is a plug and socket inside the machine that could be a bit dodgy....any help/advice greatly received.

I'm new to this site and only had the keyboard a short time so its all a steep learning curve !!


------------------

Top
#68895 - 07/14/09 10:32 AM Re: KN7000
Bob Hendershot Offline
Member

Registered: 12/02/99
Posts: 924
Loc: Johnson City, TN USA
From what you describe I understand that the problem is noticed when using the headphones as well as when using the speakers. The only thing that I can think of that is mechanical and common to both is an expression pedal or it's circuitry. If you have an expression pedal, I would start with that. If you don't there may be an intermittent problem with the expression pedal jack at the back of the keyboard.

Top
#68896 - 07/14/09 03:48 PM Re: KN7000
Audrey Turner Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 03/19/02
Posts: 1098
Loc: Cambridge, Cambs, England
Bob's right, when this happened to me, it was because one of the cables wasn't properly connected, so here's what to do:

1) Save all your work to an SD Card/Floppy/

2) With the KN7 switched OFF take out all
connected cables.

3) Clean/dust and re-connect them.

4) RESET THE KEYBOARD as follows:-
Whilst pressing the three lower left
buttons in the RHYTHM GROUP section -
(60's & 70's, MODERN DANCE and SOUL & R&B)
at the same time, turn the POWER ON.

Hope this works for you.

Audrey

Top
#68897 - 07/15/09 11:41 AM Re: KN7000
HarryG Offline
Member

Registered: 04/18/09
Posts: 193
Loc: Germany
Hello,

Question: Do you have an Expansionsboard in the KN 7000?

Which company version has you in the KN 7000 (1.3; 1.4; 1.6)?

If you initialize the KN 7000, there are two possibilities.

1. Turn off the power to this instrument once.
Then, while pressing the three lower left buttons
in the RHYTHM GROUP section (60's &
70's, and MODERN DANCE SOUL & R &
at the same time, turn the power on again.

2. Factory Reset
Turn off the power to this instrument once.
Then, while pressing the four buttons upper left
in the RHYTHM GROUP (8 & 16 Beat, Rock &Pop; Ballad, Jazz & Swing)
at the same time, turn the power on again.

After switching the buttons long enough to hold up in the display: Factory Reset Compled!


When you press the sound group [PIANO], [GUITAR], [MALLET] [WORLD]
The display shows only the operation, for example, version 1.3

Carry out once the keyboard test.
Show please here: http://www.kn7000.net/forum/viewthread.php?thread_id=459

Top
#68898 - 07/17/09 02:19 AM Re: KN7000
fumblefingers Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 07/13/09
Posts: 3
Many thanks for the replies.
I intend to apply your suggestions at the week end and hopefully sort the problem.
I'll let you know how I get on.
regards

Top
#68899 - 07/20/09 05:38 AM Re: KN7000
fumblefingers Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 07/13/09
Posts: 3
Well, after completing the factory reset, cleaning all the contacts and plugs and using switch cleaner on the slider switches.....it still has the problem !

I can only assume its a dry solder joint or a loose conection somewhere on the amplifier circuit. I will try to connect the line out to an external amp and see if the sound loss still happens. Hopefully it will narrow down the search for the problem.

If nothing else, it give me the opportunity to play the keyboard every evening as I tell the wife I'm testing it !!!

Top

Moderator:  Admin 



Help keep Synth Zone Online