SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 2 of 4 < 1 2 3 4 >
Topic Options
#65410 - 01/28/04 08:18 AM Re: KN7000 Update 1.6 warning
Douglas Dean Offline
Member

Registered: 04/15/02
Posts: 554
Loc: Prospect Heights IL USA
Mike, I think it was Johnnie C. that said that.

Doug
_________________________
Grampa Doug

Top
#65411 - 01/29/04 12:41 AM Re: KN7000 Update 1.6 warning
Johnnie.c Offline
Member

Registered: 08/12/01
Posts: 561
Loc: England
Quote:
Originally posted by Mike ORegan:
BTW, who says that the upgrades were unofficial? Mike O'R

Policy was different in different parts of the world. In the UK we were told that you invalidated your guarantee if installing Taiyo upgrades, as reported on this forum by several people in the past. Since no one can notice any great differences is it really worth the risk for something most people cannot even notice.

Top
#65412 - 01/29/04 01:55 AM Re: KN7000 Update 1.6 warning
MarkW Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 11/12/03
Posts: 20
Thanks everyone for your views. I don't think I'll be upgrading in a hurry, although I might upgrade in the future. According to Mike ORegan, in a previous thread last July, the fixes in 1.5 (and presumably 1.6 as well) are:

1. Bitmap pics for HOME page can now be selected.
2. SD-Card "%age free" is now corrected
3. Drum Track with transposed files corrected for use with MIDI out.
4. Audio files on SD-Card are all now recognised.
5. The SD-Card Control File will no longer be corrupted
6. Corrections to Technichords which either don't work or produce the wrong results e.g. "add9", "madd9"

I've noticed that the SD percentage free is often wrong, but I guess that is a minor niggle. The most worrying defect in 1.3 is the potential for the SD control file to become corrupt, although I have not experienced that so far.

Does any one know what "Audio files on SD-Card are all now recognised" means? I haven't noticed any problems playing audio files.

I wonder if any KN7000s have been shipped from the factory yet with 1.6 installed?

Cheers,
Mark.

Top
#65413 - 01/29/04 06:28 AM Re: KN7000 Update 1.6 warning
Walt Meyer Offline
Member

Registered: 10/02/02
Posts: 437
Loc: Silver City, NM USA
Mark,
I had experience with corruption of my SD control (INF) file which was corrected with Version 1.5
I received my version 1.5 dirct from Technics USA (via Eddie Williams) so I know it was an official release.
Furthermore, I did a binary file compare with the Taiyo 1.5 and they were identical.
I don't know anything about 1.6 but have had no problems since installing 1.5
Walt

Top
#65414 - 01/29/04 08:05 AM Re: KN7000 Update 1.6 warning
BEBOP Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/02/00
Posts: 3770
Loc: San Jose, California
Has anyone yet received or asked Eddie Williams for a Version 1.6 update. I have not but wonder if anyone else has. He sent me 1.5 and it works fine.
Let us all know,
Thanks to Eddie for 1.5. Eddie Williams is our official factory rep here is the US
Bebop
_________________________
BEBOP

Top
#65415 - 01/29/04 09:58 AM Re: KN7000 Update 1.6 warning
ogre Offline
Member

Registered: 01/18/02
Posts: 242
Loc: UK
Reading all this makes me wonder why Technics Europe/UK has never issued any updates, and my dealer knows of none...


Peter
_________________________
Peter

Top
#65416 - 01/29/04 12:09 PM Re: KN7000 Update 1.6 warning
musicworldmatt Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 12/10/03
Posts: 8
Loc: Las Vegas, NV, USA
The model/serial number tag on the box of a KN7000 I sold this morning leads me to believe that it came from the factory with 1.6 installed. The model no. reads SX-KN7000P-S(1.6). Technics shipped this keyboard to me at the end of December. The customer took it home in the box, but promised to let me know about it later in the week.

Matt

Top
#65417 - 01/29/04 12:21 PM Re: KN7000 Update 1.6 warning
Gunnar Jonny Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 04/01/01
Posts: 3992
Loc: Norway
I don't know much about this upgrades for KN7000, but
looking at Yahoo KN7000 Group, a user trashed his 7000
installing 1.6 from Taiyo, so the big question is if
it's worth the risk if noone can tell that there are
much difference at all.
Bring me back to what sooooo many say at SZ:
If it ain't broke, don't fix it.
GJ
_________________________
Cheers 🥂
GJ
_______________________________________________
"Success is not counted by how high you have climbed
but by how many you brought with you." (Wil Rose)

Top
#65418 - 01/29/04 12:50 PM Re: KN7000 Update 1.6 warning
Walt Meyer Offline
Member

Registered: 10/02/02
Posts: 437
Loc: Silver City, NM USA
Gunnar,
As with any operating system update, if you don't do it exactly right you risk the possibility of trashing the instrument. This is true of computers or keyboards or any item that has updatable flash ROM.
Therein lies the real danger!
No matter the quality of the software update, if you goof, your in one big mess of trouble.
Of course, no permanent damage is done but it might take a factory instructed procedure to straighten it out. If I remember right, Eddie Williams helped out someone in that trouble last year.
Walt

Top
#65419 - 01/29/04 01:12 PM Re: KN7000 Update 1.6 warning
Gunnar Jonny Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 04/01/01
Posts: 3992
Loc: Norway
The link you ask for Johnnie, I don't know where to find.

Walt, to be honest, if I had a KN7000, I'm probably been one of the first who
would have installed the 1.6, just because I usually downloads all updates as
soon as they show up, either it is for the keyboard or other PC related software.
But believe me, it do not always be a success after the install..... to many
CRASH BOOMS during the years.
But do I learn to let it be the next time? Nope.....
GJ
_________________________
Cheers 🥂
GJ
_______________________________________________
"Success is not counted by how high you have climbed
but by how many you brought with you." (Wil Rose)

Top
Page 2 of 4 < 1 2 3 4 >

Moderator:  Admin 



Help keep Synth Zone Online