SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#6071 - 10/09/04 12:31 PM Wierd note duration problem
Anonymous
Unregistered

I have a midi file of a song with some long sweeping strings.

when it uses the default GM patch "SynStrings1", it sounds fine.
When I switch it to a new patch I made on the fantom or any of the other preset string patches, the notes change. Keep in mind, I'm not an expert on theory, but it seems to me they go from a full note down to a half note.
Kind of like the player lets up off the keys early.

Does anyone know what the heck is going on here? It only seems to happen with strings or pad-type sounds.

I can email or upload an mp3 of the difference if anyone needs to hear this.
BTW, there are no CC's. Just notes. I deleted everything in Microscope edit.

[This message has been edited by digimage (edited 10-09-2004).]

#6072 - 10/09/04 05:04 PM Re: Wierd note duration problem
3351 Offline

Loc: Toronto, Canada.
Yeah, could you let us hear it?

-ED-

#6073 - 10/09/04 05:14 PM Re: Wierd note duration problem
TheSonicEnergyAuthority Offline

Loc: Peterborough,Cambridgeshire,UK
Don't have a Fantom, so carn't be too sure...
Does the Fantom respond to note off velocity?
If so I'm wondering if the note on message is at a high velocity, and the note off is at say 64..

#6074 - 10/10/04 10:19 PM Re: Wierd note duration problem
FAEbGBD Offline

Loc: Nashvville TN
you could be running out of polyphony too. The GM strings and pads use only 1 tone per patch, the more complex presets will use more tones per patch, making it possible that thick chord textures are overdoing your synth's polyphony.

#6075 - 10/18/04 07:19 AM Re: Wierd note duration problem
MORPH! Offline

Loc: Laguna Beach, California, Unit...
You are most likely hearing a big difference in the enveloping (ADSR) of your sound patch (which certainly may have a profound effect on the duration of a keyed assigned note)