SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#59915 - 10/20/02 08:15 PM Expression pedal nerves
Mike Daniell Offline

Loc: Brisbane, Qld, Australia
OK, it's confession time. I'm not a professional player and I don't do gigs, but I do play at our local keyboard club and occasionally before small groups. When I play before a (small) audience, I feel consciously quite relaxed, but while I am playing the nerves tend to take over. The only real problem here is that I like to use the expression pedal (probably because I've had organs for years) and the nerves seem to find their way to the foot resting on the expression pedal. The nerves seem to think that the piece of music needs a tremelo effect so my foot starts shaking. The only way I can stop it is to take my foot off the expression pedal.

Does anyone else have this problem? Does anyone have a solution? For the next meeting of the keyboard club I'm going to practice not using the expression pedal at all unless I can find a solution.

Mike

#59916 - 10/20/02 10:18 PM Re: Expression pedal nerves
Dave Shively Offline

Loc: Calimesa, Ca, USA
Hi Mike,
Don't feel alone, I too have this problem at times. The last was playing at our church for a Memorial service. When I first started I was completely relaxed, but then the old foot started to shake. I just take my foot off the expression pedal for a few seconds, pay more attention to the music while relaxing my foot on the floor. It seem's to pass quickly. I believe that it is do to the fact that we don't play in front of people on a regular basis and even through we practice and try to relax the stress seem's to go to the foot on the expression pedal. I use a Technic pedal, which to me is quite high off the floor and the foot is not supported very well when using the pedal, which I feel contributes to the problem. Hope this helps - happy playing - if the foot trembles - just give it a few taps on the floor.
Best Regards,
Dave