SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#4990 - 05/10/05 05:50 AM getting started - total newbie questions
joezed Offline

Loc: Buenos Aires , Argentina
Hi everybody,
what a great forum. Im so glad I stumbled here.

Heres my situation. Ive studied classical for quite a while and recently dropped classical and started persuing jazz. Ive got a great teacher, an old upright piano, but Id like to invest in a keyboard as well.

How do I go about setting up a minimal studio? Whatever keyboard I select, I would like to connect it to my computer and do recording that way. Im not trying to make an album, just jamming and recording my progress. What other items do I need to get started? I really dont know anything about this...

To make matters a little more complicated, I live in south america and will be returning to the states for only a month (June 2005), so whatever I buy needs to be fairly reliable.

Thanks so much,
Joe

#4991 - 05/10/05 07:39 AM Re: getting started - total newbie questions
Sheriff Offline

Loc: Frankfurt, Hessen, Germany
Well, if you don't need a high quality studio equipment then you don't need to purchase items for many thousand dollars. If you only plan to record your progress for self controlling then a normal sound card will be sufficient. This will work like a tape recorder.

Which hardware is needed? - Well, you'll only need a keyboard with stereo audio outs, a 1st stereo audio cable from your kb to your sound card, an ISA or PCI sound card, a 2nd stereo audio cable from your sound card to your HiFi amps.

Which software is needed? - You'll need a program for recording and playing audio tracks from HDD. WinAmp for example is a player only but can be used for WAVEs and for MP3s. I'm using NeroMediaPlayer V1.103 for myself which came as a part of the software bundle of NeroBurningROM V5.0. It has the ability to record from the audio ins of your sound card to your HDD.