SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#475235 - 09/01/19 04:32 PM Does anyone USE 76 keys when playing arranger?
DonM Offline

Loc: Benton, LA, USA
I've been watching various YouTube videos, including PA4X76, Ketrons and Genos.
Not once have I seen anyone use the lowest keys and very seldom the highest keys in arranger mode. I can see where it would allow an extra split, but other than that that I question why you would need the extra keys, particularly the lower ones, in ARRANGER mode.
I have had a few 76s and I know I didn't use the lowest keys.
Just idle musings . . .

#475236 - 09/01/19 04:36 PM Re: Does anyone USE 76 keys when playing arranger? [Re: DonM]
Stephenm52 Offline

Loc: USA
As a pianist I like the luxury of having 76 keys on the Pa4x for my style of playing and for the times I throw in a few piano solos it works for me. I’m very comfortable with having the extra real estate, but if I don’t it’s not a deal breaker for playing in arranger mode.

#475237 - 09/01/19 04:38 PM Re: Does anyone USE 76 keys when playing arranger? [Re: DonM]
Dnj Offline

Ditto Don,.... personally I dislike 76 keys on an arranger...
but I can see piano style full keyboard mode players would like it.
I have had both just my opinion. Just stick to what your using
no need for more real estate.

#475241 - 09/01/19 06:38 PM Re: Does anyone USE 76 keys when playing arranger? [Re: DonM]
Riceroni9 Offline

Loc: TX, USA
Interesting question, Don:

I am not a pianist or musician. For my needs, I could get by with even fewer keys on the 970 you sold me. I can fully understand how a real pianist would want a full 88 keys (or even settle for 76) but I prefer better sounding styles, intros, middle breaks, outros and multi-pads to enhance the songs I write. As I've said many times before... Arrangers are the best kept secret that most songwriters never hear about.

Have a great weekend, Pal!