SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#4688 - 02/08/06 07:11 AM soft synths
Anonymous
Unregistered

could anybody answer some of my bacis questions on sof syths as im new to them.
what does a soft sampler do?
how do you control in real time the patches/samples you are creating using MIDI keyboards controllers, and alternative MIDI controllers?

cheers

#4689 - 02/09/06 09:27 AM Re: soft synths
3351 Offline

Loc: Toronto, Canada.
Soft synths and samplers are made of softer plastic and other materials that are soft to the touch. There are also blow up rubber synths and of coarse samplers. The reason is weight. when you travel a lot carrying a hard synthesizer around can hurt you and others. A soft synth is therefore more adequate for this task. It can't hurt you or others if dropped or thrown. This also has to do with some musicians being rather violent and aggressive (just their nature). Obviously the aggressive types aren't allowed to use hard synths and samplers at all.

So here you go. ;-)

Okay. here's the real skinny.

Software synthesizers are just like hardware synthesizers but they only exist inside your computer. The only space they take up is hard disk space. They respond and sound just like hardware synths (in general that is) and are usually controlled by either a dedicated MIDi controller or any keyboard that has MIDI.
Editing of all the parameters is much easier since a software instrument (be it a sampler or a synth. Or both at the same time) is basically a program with it's own interface. All the parameters are available and can be stored and loaded as well. The advantage of software instruments is that they can load more samples. You can run as many of them as your computer's CPU can handle and most important of all they cost far less and simply deliver more for the money.