SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 2 of 3 < 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#467229 - 03/08/19 09:11 AM Re: SD4 Question [Re: Bernie9]
DAN.2000 Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 08/09/01
Posts: 1109
Loc: FRANCE
Mmm.... As far I remember, the version 1.32 is important to correct USB bugs with the SD4 that was working good on Windows XP but not with Windows 7

It was an update asked by me directly to Ketron italy, to correct some important bugs

I also remember that when you upgrade the SD4, it never says that it is finished, but in fact after few minutes, you can check the version and it is well updated


Edited by DAN.2000 (03/08/19 09:12 AM)
_________________________
Regards,

Dan
https://www.varranger.com

Top
#467235 - 03/08/19 11:23 AM Re: SD4 Question [Re: DAN.2000]
Torch Offline
Member

Registered: 12/17/12
Posts: 718
Ketron's web site shows only v 1.30. I found this this vArrnager thread concerning the SD4 USB issue. https://www.varranger.com/vforum/index.php?topic=209.0

Dan has a MIDI test file to test the SD 4 USB midi connection. V 1.30 does have a USB issue. Dan has done a great job with patch mapping/layering for the SD4.

Now where can I find v 1.32? My SD4 has 1.30. Does that mean I have to update it to 1.31 before 1.32?



Edited by Torch (03/08/19 11:29 AM)
_________________________
"You Shall Know the Truth, and the Truth will set you free." John 8:32

Top
#467241 - 03/08/19 12:22 PM Re: SD4 Question [Re: Bernie9]
Bernie9 Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 09/21/02
Posts: 4900
Loc: Port Charlotte,FL,USA
If you use the midi port, like I always did with my SD4, it worked well. So, unless I am reading this wrong, the only problem is with the USB port.
_________________________
pa4X 76 ,SX900, Audya 76,Yamaha S970 , vArranger, Hammond SK1, Ketron SD40, Centerpoint Space Station, Bose compact

Top
#467244 - 03/08/19 12:28 PM Re: SD4 Question [Re: Bernie9]
hammer Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/27/08
Posts: 2283
Loc: Texas
Bernie,
When I got both the SD90 and the SD40 I discovered something strange.
The SD90 would NOT power a keyboard using a USB port and It required the 5 Pin
midi cable to work. I tried it with several midi controllers and AJ confirmed the SD90's USB ports did to supply enough power to power a keyboard. The SD40 does power a keyboard using the USB port.

I don't know what this has to do with this thread but thought it might be of interest to some.

Deane

Top
#467248 - 03/08/19 01:40 PM Re: SD4 Question [Re: hammer]
Torch Offline
Member

Registered: 12/17/12
Posts: 718
Originally Posted By hammer
Bernie,
When I got both the SD90 and the SD40 I discovered something strange.
The SD90 would NOT power a keyboard using a USB port and It required the 5 Pin
midi cable to work. I tried it with several midi controllers and AJ confirmed the SD90's USB ports did to supply enough power to power a keyboard. The SD40 does power a keyboard using the USB port.

I don't know what this has to do with this thread but thought it might be of interest to some.

Deane
Will a powered USB hub work on your SD90?
_________________________
"You Shall Know the Truth, and the Truth will set you free." John 8:32

Top
#467249 - 03/08/19 01:43 PM Re: SD4 Question [Re: Bernie9]
Torch Offline
Member

Registered: 12/17/12
Posts: 718
Originally Posted By Bernie9
If you use the midi port, like I always did with my SD4, it worked well. So, unless I am reading this wrong, the only problem is with the USB port.
You're right; it is the USB midi connection. It will be convenient to be able to use one single USB midi cable for MIDI in and out. If I remember it correctly, the USB on the SD 4 actually offers two separate USB MIDI ports as it is a two SD2s in it after all.
_________________________
"You Shall Know the Truth, and the Truth will set you free." John 8:32

Top
#467250 - 03/08/19 01:56 PM Re: SD4 Question [Re: Bernie9]
Bernie9 Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 09/21/02
Posts: 4900
Loc: Port Charlotte,FL,USA
Thanks for the confirmation. I don't remember about the USB ports as I never used them.
_________________________
pa4X 76 ,SX900, Audya 76,Yamaha S970 , vArranger, Hammond SK1, Ketron SD40, Centerpoint Space Station, Bose compact

Top
#467252 - 03/08/19 02:13 PM Re: SD4 Question [Re: Bernie9]
hammer Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/27/08
Posts: 2283
Loc: Texas
Torch,
I now longer have the SD90 and did not try a powered USB hub with it. I replaced it with the SD40 so the USB cable would work and I would not have to carry around an extra power brick and cable.

Deane

Top
#467317 - 03/10/19 04:42 PM Re: SD4 Question [Re: hammer]
Torch Offline
Member

Registered: 12/17/12
Posts: 718
What a shame that the flagship model has a bug like that. I haven't connected my SD40 to PC, but it's good to know that it works fine.
_________________________
"You Shall Know the Truth, and the Truth will set you free." John 8:32

Top
#467350 - 03/11/19 11:04 AM Re: SD4 Question [Re: Bernie9]
synerjim Offline
Member

Registered: 10/27/03
Posts: 520
Loc: CA
My SD90 powered my MIDI controllers thru USB ports without any issue.
_________________________
Jim

SD90, Pa1000,TC Helicon Play Electric, Fender Sonoran Guitar, vArranger, Bose S1 Pros, Bose L1 Compact, Aiwa Exos-9

Top
Page 2 of 3 < 1 2 3 >

Moderator:  Admin, Ketron_AJ, Tonewheeldude 



Help keep Synth Zone Online