SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 2 of 2 < 1 2
Topic Options
#46682 - 10/19/04 04:46 AM Re: Old subject Playing live or Sequences and WHY
bruno123 Online   content

Loc: West Palm Beach, FL 33417
Chuck, my guitar teacher who was one of the best in New York would sit and write a guitar arrangement for me. Since I was a pro the arrangement was involved. I asked him way he did not make copies of the arrangement, it would take less time. His answer, which I understood was -- If I made the arrangement, put it in my file and copied it when I need it, the arrangement would never be anymore than it was when I first wrote it. In this way it improves as I do.

When I play I look for new ways to express what I am feeling and using some of the new ideas in chord changes and melodic lines. Playing Glenn Miller's Getting Sentiment Over You should be played as he did it IMHO -- But how many different arrangements of Body and Soul, of Misty or Mack the Knife have been played.
Chuck, I value your opinion, and I do respect it,thank you.

God made so many varities of us Technics guys and that makes life so interesting.

Have a special day, John C.

#46683 - 10/19/04 09:24 AM Re: Old subject Playing live or Sequences and WHY
John North Offline

Loc: Alfreton, Derbyshire, England
A very interesting topic and one which will go on and on, I'm sure.
I have great respect for anyone who sequences their music, not to mention admiration for their patience. In fact I respect anyone who produces music by whatever means. I've backed singers who sing in the key of Z - but at least they have a go. Firstly if it gives you pleasure producing music by that method all well and good. Secondly if the 'listener' enjoys the music for what it is, not how it was produced so much the better. Even Mike Oldfield played some tracks of his famous 'Tubular Bells' at half speed!!! and that's a CD I've nearly worn out.