SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Page 2 of 2 < 1 2
Topic Options
#458437 - 09/21/18 12:34 PM Re: Are you a Sharp Dressed man when performing? [Re: tony mads usa]
Dnj Offline

Originally Posted By tony mads usa
I've often posted on this board about how I feel that those of us in the late 60 to late 70 and beyond age group were musicians at what I think was the perfect time ... Especially for those of us who were able to perform with other good musicians, especially when they had good character ... I was blessed to work with the same group of great talented guys for 26 years ... we were able to play the 'top 40' in OUR style, with OUR sound - we were the only 5 piece 'wedding band' with an alto player, not a tenor - and we ALWAYS dressed for the occasion ... our sax layer was a graphic artist by profession and he was always up on the latest fashion regarding tuxedos, formal shirts, bow ties etc. - one thing he refused to do was the 'Nehru' jacket thing - but he kept us looking sharp from head to toe, including the patent leather shoes ...
Today, in this far too casual world (JMHO !!!) people don't dress 'for the occasion' ... the clothes they wear at McD's are the same clothes they wear for dinner in an upscale restaurant ...
These days for NH/AL venues I wear a nice short sleeve sport shirt - it's always about 95 degrees in these places, even with my fan - and nice slacks ... an evening gig in the same venue, I will wear a shirt and tie ... When I fill in at a restaurant, it's usually a black shirt with a light grey (silver) tie, grey slacks and possibly a black blazer ...