SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#456442 - 08/18/18 10:38 AM AUDYA 4 installed 120GB SSD
freakman Offline
Member

Registered: 10/05/15
Posts: 91
Hello, I have an SSD installed in my AUDYA 4 today, works perfectly.
Standard IDE to SATA adapter about 9 €
120GB Western Digital about 29 €
Until now, everything is running faster than before and no clacking HDD more.



Attachments
IDE Adapter.JPG

WD 120 GB.JPG




Edited by freakman (08/18/18 10:45 AM)
_________________________
Freakman

Top
#456573 - 08/20/18 07:54 AM Re: AUDYA 4 installed 120GB SSD [Re: freakman]
mc2pereira Offline
Member

Registered: 07/27/10
Posts: 68
Loc: Campo Grande, MS, BRASIL
please could you take a step by step how to install SD?

Top
#456936 - 08/27/18 05:52 AM Re: AUDYA 4 installed 120GB SSD [Re: mc2pereira]
freakman Offline
Member

Registered: 10/05/15
Posts: 91
hello,
It's just a guide how I did it,
if they do it you take responsibility for your device.

I installed an SSD in my Audya 4.
My Audya4 with original HDD, no purchase styles and Sounds by Ketron.

I used a SSD 120GB WD (Western Digital) and a cheap IDE To SATA adapter.
So now the simple version, plug the SSD into the adapter,
connect the original cable to the adapter (I can upload pictures if anyone is interested)
Turn Audya 4 on and let it boot.
There is an error, Phase Error, please wait for the Audya 4 to continue booting after a few seconds.
Then the message HDD can not be read F1 Formatting.
Confirm F1, after formatting turn off the Audya4. Remove the SSD again.
The SSD no longer in the PC format very important.
Now copy the original HDD with all hidden system files to the SSD.
Mark all directories and files on the original HDD and copy them to the SSD.
Finally, the message 4 overwrite system files, I have overwritten them.
Then install the SSD with the adapter back into your Audya 4 ready.
I have tried everything now, everything works,
everything that worked before. My styles with audio drums everything.
.Ins files are loaded without problems. DJ Loops perfect.
Record in .wav, .mp3 perfect. I have not noticed anything, not even the sound.
Until now, everything is running, have already turned it on several times,
always booted without problems.
The IDE to SATA costs about 9 € and the WD SSD about 30 €.
The LED flashes green when loading, so everything is fine.
My USB sticks work perfectly, direct loading and playing or copying everything works.
I tested it for a very long time, everything was great so far.
Everything is loaded and saved.
Sound Audio Drums shortcuts.
Read from USB and written.
My Audya4 has booted every time, perfectly.


Attachments
IMG_20180817_183028_2.jpg (86 downloads)
IMG_20180818_140848_2.jpg (57 downloads)

_________________________
Freakman

Top
#457037 - 08/28/18 11:01 AM Re: AUDYA 4 installed 120GB SSD [Re: freakman]
mc2pereira Offline
Member

Registered: 07/27/10
Posts: 68
Loc: Campo Grande, MS, BRASIL
Thanks for listening.

Top
#457190 - 08/30/18 04:13 PM Re: AUDYA 4 installed 120GB SSD [Re: freakman]
Tonewheeldude Offline
Moderator

Registered: 01/21/10
Posts: 1529
Should note that all protected styles (and user styles) will cease to operate and any previously installed USB updates will not work with the sata drive. Also, the 120gb SSD will be formatted down to 80gb.

Top
#457198 - 08/30/18 11:15 PM Re: AUDYA 4 installed 120GB SSD [Re: Tonewheeldude]
freakman Offline
Member

Registered: 10/05/15
Posts: 91
Yes,
Everything as in the originals, 80GB but it works great.
If that's enough it can use it without problems.
_________________________
Freakman

Top
#458008 - 09/13/18 09:57 AM Re: AUDYA 4 installed 120GB SSD [Re: freakman]
leezone Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/24/08
Posts: 3124
tonewheeldude,

so how to get those previously installed, purchased USB packs back into new SSD?

i know that cloning HD's won't work also, as HD has an ID#

i guess you would have to have made an exact copy of your USB style packs BEFORE you installed into your AUDYA, yes?

and then you could re-install ?

i too would like to upgrade my old HD to SSD
i've already have the 128gb Sandisk SSD for about 2 years,
just haven't sone it yet,

still have to buy that adapter? which is recommended?

thanks everyone!!!

Top
#458040 - 09/13/18 03:59 PM Re: AUDYA 4 installed 120GB SSD [Re: freakman]
Tonewheeldude Offline
Moderator

Registered: 01/21/10
Posts: 1529
I can't recommend using an adapter if you are a professional/semi player. Ketron use an industrial PATA SSD drive in their upgrade kits - and this is where it would be best to look. Not all are compatible though, they did use Transcend previously, but not all work correctly and the DISK LED remains illuminated. Kingspec PATA SSD drives dont seem to work properly. I'll try and find the old Transcend part Number.

For the USB updates. Contact your distributor, if you bought them through Ketron UK, they will reinitialise the USB stick free of charge if you send it to them. (Roberts styles for example)

Top
#467195 - 03/08/19 02:39 AM Re: AUDYA 4 installed 120GB SSD [Re: freakman]
robert.m Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 11/29/12
Posts: 29
Loc: CROATIA
Will this kingspec ssd 64gb work with the adapter in audya?

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/T-64-Kin....588a4c4dP5AhDt

https://www.ebay.com/itm/2-5-Inch-PATA-IDE-To-Serial-ATA-SATA-Card-Adapter-Converter-For-HDD-SSD-44Pin/254101747360?ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT&_trksid=p2057872.m2749.l2649



Edited by robert.m (03/08/19 02:41 AM)

Top

Moderator:  Admin, Ketron_AJ, Tonewheeldude 



Help keep Synth Zone Online